Speed Review: Masks

Masks are a great way to relax and treat your skin, if you are using the right ones that is. For hydration, look for a rich creamy one if you have dry skin or a lightweight gel type if you have dehydrated oily/combination skin. While most mud/charcoal masks for purifying/clarifying the skin tend to be drying, there are some with honey and other moisturizing ingredients that are wonderful for dry skin type as well. Trying to find the right mask is always an adventure. When it doesn’t work, at best it does nothing, and at worst it leaves your skin red and irritated with two gigantic pimples that hurts but won’t surface and makes me feel like roaring to the sky “WHAT’S WRONG WITH MY FAAAACE!!!”

The gist of it is, don’t go rush out to buy a new mask just because everybody raves about it or the description sounds amazing. Always make sure it’s appropriate for your skin type first, check the ingredients list or go to a Sephora/Nordstrom and ask for a sample if you are not sure. All complaints aside, most of the ones I tried this time are actually pretty nice.

Dr. Hauschka Soothing Mask – it is a white cream mask with herbal scent. It feels moisturizing and soothing on the skin, reminds me of Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Mask. However, it is difficult to rinse off and leaves a slight residue even after I wiped it off. If you have dry skin it’s probably fine, but I prefer Origins Mega-Mushroom or First Aid Beauty Oatmeal mask instead.

Dr. Hauschka Rejuvenating Mask – it is a light yellow cream mask with herbal scent. It feels moisturizing but is difficult to wipe/rinse off and leaves a little residue. I can’t really tell the difference between this Rejuvenating and the Soothing mask but I’ve only used each of them twice. It’s appropriate for dry skin.

Erborian Pate Au Ginseng Mask – it is a thick gel mask with the color of maple syrup. It doesn’t feel sticky, just a gel mask with floral scent. My skin feel slightly hydrated afterwards, but there’s nothing else I can see/tell after only one use. It’s appropriate for all skin types, but if you want it for the ginseng, check out these sheet masks as well.

Eve Lom Rescue Mask – it is a white clay mask with bits of grain (finely grounded almond) and a strong herbal scent from camphor. It feels cool on the skin and rinses off cleanly. My skin feel smooth, clean and purified after using it. It moisturizes slightly as well so I’d say it’s appropriate for all skin types.

Chantecaille Fruit and Flower Acid Mask – it is a white cream with a sour fruity scent. There is a very mild tingling sensation a few minutes after application but otherwise it felt fine. The cream doesn’t rinse off easily so it’s better to gently wipe it off. It’s an exfoliating mask. While my skin did feel slightly drier afterwards, it was not irritated and it did help dissolve the clogged pores/gunk in my skin. It’s appropriate for all skin types.

Jurlique Antioxidant Gel Mask – it is a clear gel that reminds me of Fresh Rose mask but with little beads of antioxidants that bursts instead of flower petals. It has a floral scent and feels cool and refreshing on the skin. It’s great for lightweight hydration but dry skin might want something more heavy duty.

Manuka Secrets Mask UMF 18+ – it’s a white cream mask with very strong sweet herbal scent. I briefly felt a very mild tingling on acne-prone area of the skin during application. I don’t feel anything after applying it, but when I went to the mirror to take it off, my face was bright red!!!! I was terrified, but my skin did not feel irritated, just a little warm. It didn’t moisturize or anything and I would much recommend other honey masks instead.

Sisley Paris Phyto-Blanc Ultra Lightening Mask – it is a white cream with strong floral perfume scent. It feels fine on the skin but leaves a residue after rinsing. It’s not stuffy and moisturizes a little, but there’s nothing special. Appropriate for normal/dry skin types.

Skinfood Black Sugar Honey Wash-off Mask – it is a gooey gel with black sugar bits. I’ve tried the Skinfood Black Sugar Polish before, the sugar here are finer than in the scrub and the thinner gel consistency makes this feel gentler as well. My skin feels slightly moisturized and exfoliated afterwards. It’s appropriate for all skin types except sensitive.

Wei Golden Root Purifying Mask – it is a greyish purple mud with a floral scent. It is creamy and soft, gives the skin a slight cool/refreshing feeling. It doesn’t harden and crumble as it dries and does rinse off cleanly. My skin feels smooth and refreshed afterwards. It doesn’t feel drying or irritating at all but does its job to purify the pores. If you find Origins or Glamglow masks to be slightly irritating/drying, then give this a try.

Overall the batch of masks were ok. If I ever see Eve Lom, Jurlique or Wei masks on sale then I’ll probably grab them. Otherwise, I’ll stick with my trusty Glamglow Supermud mask, Origins Clear Improvement Charcoal mask, First Aid Beauty Oatmeal mask and Algenist Brightening Mask and Peter Thomas Roth Pumpkin and…….

Leave a Reply

