February Skincare Journal: Aloe Vera Gel for Hair!

Pretty much every other skincare product contains aloe vera. It’s everywhere and for good reasons. It’s hydrating, smoothing and contains antioxidants. I’ve done reviews on aloe vera sheet masks before, but I was feeling fancy at Whole Foods so I picked up this 99% aloe vera gel last year. It is a jelly gel, feels watery going on the skin and a little sticky as it dries. It does moisturizes and soothes but leaves a sticky residue that flakes off when it dries. Ok, so if you are looking for aloe vera gel to moisturize the skin, look elsewhere. BUT! While I was trying to use it up, I applied it on my scalp for a pre-shampoo treatment and it was AMAZING! Basically I squeeze the gel into my hand then rubbed it onto my scalp.20160914_095123

I usually wait 5-10 minutes for it to dry before stepping into shower. It turns slippery and rinses off easily, allowing the shampoo I applied after to clean and foams much better. After my hair dries, I can feel that my scalp feels more refreshed and cleaner than before. It is great for hydrating, purifying and soothing sensitive or oily scalp. If you want soft, shiny hair and clean scalp but find creamy masks and oils make your hair greasy and heavy even after shampooing, then I recommend this. Although any pure aloe vera gel will probably work just as well. Highly recommend!

Skin condition: I usually get a few pimples from stress, period or spicy food. I only got a small one this month and it faded quickly, probably due to the variety of peels and honey masks that I used. Other than that 1 pimple, my skin was clear, moisturized and smooth!

Products used: Aside from Origins Charcoal Mask, I used mostly honey masks twice a week and the peel sample packets in the speed review. As for daily regimen:

  • Origins Checks and Balances Cleanser
  • Lancome Tonique Douceur (the blue toner that’s alcohol free)
  • Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Eye Concentrate
  • Klairs Vitamin Drops serum
  • Omorovicza Rejuvenating Night Cream
  • AmorePacific Natural Protector SPF35

The Omorovicza night cream is very rich so I usually don’t use any serum with it unless my skin feels really dry. I’m hoping to use up the Omorovicza night cream before the weather warms up and finish up some of my toner/essence as well next month.

Other influences: I’ve been exercising almost daily, thanks to this corny exercise app that I’m trying to finish. It’s called Burn Your Fat With Me! and you are roleplaying a chubby manga lover that is forced to go to this acting high school, where you need to get fit for the leading role of the play with the help of the lead actor Kei….. who makes you do sit ups, squats, push ups and back extensions. It’s very corny and cringey, but it’s kind of fun and I never thought I’d be able to do 25 push ups in one setting, yet here I am and I do feel my arms and stomache getting stronger! I finished the episodes/story for sit ups and back extension, I hope to finish the squats and push ups story next month. Fingers crossed!

Also, since it’s spring, I’m very happy that I can buy cherry blossom (sakura) products again. I’m a big fan of the pickled cherry blossom. If you sprinkle a few on top of rice when you cook, your steamed rice will have a slightly salty and refreshing flavor. If you rinse off the salt then steep the blossom in hot water, you get a mild, slightly fruity but not sweet tea. I don’t know about health benefits, but look how pretty and springy it is!img_20170215_142349

Leave a Reply

