Drench your skin with Peter Thomas Roth

Peter Thomas Roth is a brand that I use a lot. They use great ingredients and most products works pretty well with my skin. I especially enjoys the Pumpkin Enzyme Mask, which is great for all skin types. If you have oily/blemish prone skin then the Anti-aging Cleansing Gel is great, and if you have dry skin, you must give the Rose Stem-Cell Bio-Repair Cream a try. They recently came out with a new line, the Water Drench Hyaluronic Cloud Serum and Cream, so of course I have to grab them.

20170108_122336

THE star ingredient of the serum and cream is of course, hyaluronic acid! It is a humectant (attracts moisture to the skin, up to 1000 times its weight!) that is naturally present in the human body so it absorbs easily and is great for even the most acne-prone or sensitive skin. The Water Drench Hyaluronic Cloud Serum and Cream uses three types of hyaluronic acid with different molecular sizes so they provide hydration to different layers of the skin.20170108_124553

PTR Water Drench Hyaluronic Cloud Serum

It is a clear liquidy gel that feels like water on the skin but more comfortable and moisturizing. In addition to hyaluronic acid, it also contains silk, algae, honey and other goodies to keep your skin soft, smooth and moisturized. I’m having a full-blown cold while testing this, so my nose was rubbed dry and raw, and any moisturizer/balm I applied gets rubbed off within seconds when I blow my nose. However, this absorbs fast, leaving nothing on the skin but my nose was no longer dry and raw the next day (eventho I continued blowing/rubbing it every 5 minutes).

While it does soften the skin and provide deep hydration, it makes moisturizers flake on the edge of my face where I have lots of peach fuzz. It has fantastic ingredients and does a wonderful job of hydrating, softening and calming my skin, but all three different moisturizers I tried on top of this end up flaking a little on my side burn/peach fuzz area. If this doesn’t work for you, I recommend Dr. Dennis Gross Hydration Booster or Drunk Elephant B-Hydra Gel, but this is a bit more weightless and hydrating.

20170108_124656

PTR Water Drench Hyaluronic Cloud Cream

In addition to hyaluronic acid, it also contains ceramides to lock in the moisture as well as yeast extract and antioxidants for a little dose of antiaging. It is a white gel cream that turns slightly watery on the skin as it absorbs. It has no scent and absorbs well, leaving skin feel clean like I didn’t apply anything. Because of that, I was worried it won’t be moisturizing enough for my dry combination skin after a night of dry heat. However, my skin still feel moisturized, soft and comfortable the next morning.

Because it hydrates so well but leaves the skin feeling clean after application, it works totally fine under overnight masks, sunscreen and makeup. Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Relief and Estee Edit Pink Peony Overnight Mask are similar, but they are not as lightweight/watery and just a tiny bit less hydrating.

20170108_150436

Overall the ingredients for the serum are fantastic. If you don’t have lots of peach fuzz like me but your skin is absolutely parched and possibly irritated/roughened, this serum will definitely help. I’m not sure if the cream will help with super dry skin, but it was moisturizing enough for dry combination skin and is very lightweight.

2 thoughts on “Drench your skin with Peter Thomas Roth

Leave a Reply

