Sheet Masks/Ingredient Highlight: Caviar

Merry Christmas everyone! Hope y’all are staying warm and having a good time. Today, I bring to you the LAST edition of the Sheet Masks/Ingredient Highlight series. Yes, it’s the last set of the 70+ Korean sheet masks I bought back when I started the series. Today, let’s talk about caviar! Caviar contains a lot of omega-3 and omega-6, which are part of a healthy diet. It also contains antioxidants, which helps to combat sun damage. Lastly, it is moisturizing, anti-inflammatory and promotes collagen production. While caviar is beneficial when consumed, there’s barely any clinical studies done on topical effects of caviar. And when it comes to skincare, caviar is a general term for all fish-egg derivatives, not just the little round fish eggs you eat. The extract in your skincare may come from fish eggs, or the fluids around the fish egg, or something harvested after the egg hatched.

20160903_125818

Just like how the benefit of fishes or omega-3 supplements varies widely due to the type and mercury content/pollution, I wouldn’t count on all caviar extracts to be the same. Unfortunately, companies only talks about how amazing their caviar is for anti-aging and dry skin, never mentioning more than that. Since caviar is often blended together with other proven nourishing anti-aging ingredients in skincare products, it’s difficult to tell if the benefit actually come from caviar. It may have some moisturizing and anti-aging effects but we don’t know the extend of it. If you are serious about anti-aging, then it’s better to look for proven ingredients such as vitamin C, collagen, retinol and peptides instead.

Skin type: Dry skin, mature skin

Purpose: Combat sun damage, encourages production of collagen, is anti-inflammatory and moisturizing.

My Beauty Diary Caviar Sheet Mask

20160903_125845

The sheet mask has a very mild herbal scent. The sheet is made of smooth and sturdy paper cloth. The essence is very liquidy, a bit drippy. My skin feels moisturized and comfortable with it on. After taking it off and the essence absorbs, my skin feels clean, smooth and a little tightened. I did use a lightweight gel moisturizer afterwards.

Skinfood Gold Caviar Collagen Mask Sheet

20160903_125918

The first thing I noticed when I was taking the mask out of the packet is that it’s so slippery! The sheet mask is smooth paper cloth but a tad thicker than most. The serum is more of a slippery gel. It has no problem staying on my face, and the essence absorbs well after taking off the mask. My skin did not feel greasy or stuffy but I can feel a bit of residue from the gel serum. I used a light moisturizer after.

Skinfood Gold Caviar Collagen Cream

I was expecting a cream but it’s actually a pale yellow translucent oil balm! Instead of trying to scoop and spread on your skin, it is best to scoop some into your hand, warm it up then press/rub onto the face. The texture/feel/consistency reminds me of Farmacy sleep balm. In addition to caviar, it also contains gold and collagen, which are also great anti-aging ingredients. It have a very light floral scent and does moisturizes well without feeling stuffy or greasy. I’m not a big fan of the consistency of oil balms, but it’s appropriate for all skin types, as long as you warm it up on your hand and apply sparingly.

20160903_125956

La Prairie Skin Caviar Luxe Cream, Sheer

And finally, La Prairie. I’ve walked past the counter many times in department stores, but turned around immediately after seeing the price tag, every time. At $440 for 1.7oz, it’s the most expensive moisturizer I’ve ever tried. It has a mild perfume floral scent that lingers on the skin. It’s a light cream that absorbs well and makes the skin feel very soft, slightly silky and velvety after it absorbs. It is probably in the top 5% of the moisturizers I’ve ever tried in terms of how silky/velvety it makes my skin feels and looks. However, it is an anti-aging cream and I don’t think I can accurately judge the firmness/elasticity it provides since I’m only in my late 20s. Good quality anti-aging ingredients tend to be expensive, but there’s quite a few wonderful anti-aging moisturizers less than $200 such as L’occitane Divine Cream or AmorePacific Future Response Age Defense Cream. I would recommend giving those a try before splurging $440 on La Prairie.

Both sheet masks are nice and appropriate for all skin types. If you like oil balm texture then you can give Skinfood cream a try. While I really really like La Prairie Caviar Luxe Cream Sheer, if I have $440 to drop on moisturizers then I’d much rather spend it on L’occitane Divine Cream, AmorePacific Future Response or Sisley Paris Black Rose Cream Mask instead.

One thought on “Sheet Masks/Ingredient Highlight: Caviar

Leave a Reply

