Clinique Mask Sampler

Clinique is the first “high end” brand I got into waaay back when I was in high school. Since I’m a big fan of the Moisture Surge gel cream and the Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm, I grabbed the little mask sampler a few months back to see if there’s anything good. The four masks are:

  • Turnaround Revitalizing Instant Facial – a scrub mask/facial.
  • Moisture Surge Overnight Mask – overnight mask, basically a moisturizer.
  • Even Better Brightening Moisture Mask –  overnight mask/moisturizer.
  • Pore Refining Solution Charcoal Mask – a charcoal mask for problem skin.

20160202_100214Each pod of the mask is enough for 2-3 applications. Honestly I didn’t expect much from them, but the Pore Refining Solution is pretty good.

Turnaround Revitalizing Instant Facial

It is a creamy mask with very fine granule and a mild fresh clean scent. It feels nice and cool on the skin when applied. After leaving it on for 5 minutes, I then gently rubbed while rinsing it off. It gives a gentle but thorough exfoliation and rinses off easily. The skin feel soft, smooth and clean but not drying. It does leave some micro glitter on the skin, so I feel like the “radiance” is cosmetic/temporary, but it is a good exfoliator.20160202_100341

 Moisture Surge Overnight Mask

It is a light pink cream with no scent. The first time I tried it, I applied generously and it was SO thick and sticky and stuffy! Cream overnight masks tend to be a tad sticky in general and are better for dry skin while I prefer gel cream type overnight masks. When I applied it sparingly, the stuffy/sticky feeling disappears within minutes. It moisturizes and keeps my skin moisturized for 24hrs, so I’d recommend it for dry skin.20160202_100230

Even Better Brightening Moisture Mask

It is a white creamy overnight mask that you are suppose to use 2-3 times per week. It is quite rich but it spreads easily and absorbs completely after 5-10 minutes, so I didn’t need to tissue off excess. It didn’t feel stuffy or sticky, leaving a smooth finish. Unfortunately the pod I have only lasted 3-4 uses and I didn’t see any brightening of dark spots, but it is a nice moisturizing overnight mask for dry/combo skin at least.20160206_124748

Pore Refining Solution Charcoal Mask

It is a grey creamy mask with no scent. It looks and feels like Origin Charcoal mask when applied. It tightens as it dries but doesn’t dry completely, just like Origins Charcoal. But unlike Origins, this mask is less drying and feels comfortable even when my skin is sensitive. It makes the face feel soft and clean but not dried out. This mask works for all skin types, but I especially recommend it for dry/sensitive skin types that find most clay/charcoal masks to be too drying or irritating.

Overall the masks are ok. The Moisture Surge is just like any other overnight cream masks I’ve tried. The Brightening Mask and Revitalizing Facial have their pros and cons, but I really do like the Charcoal Mask. I like my GlamGlow and Origin Charcoal, but they are drying and feels irritating in the winter when my skin is sensitive. I like Perricone Chloroplasma and Chantecaille mask since they are more moisturizing and sensitive skin friendly, but I feel like they don’t purify pore as well. Clinique Charcoal mask seems to contain the best of both types, so I’ll probably be using this from now on.

2 thoughts on “Clinique Mask Sampler

Leave a Reply

