July Skincare Journal: Healthy inside, pretty outside

Ever since I decided to lose weight, I’ve tried to be healthier as well. Unfortunately, I’m a stress eater and lives on sugar. It’s not good for my body or my skin, so I’ve been trying to figure out easy ways to eat healthy. One of the things I’ve been obsessed with this year is bento, Japanese lunch boxes. They are sooo adorable and… kind of small, so they made eating more fun and I don’t get as grumpy about the portion control. Sometimes I make fancy ones and post on Instagram, but it doesn’t have to be time-consuming.13743681_1813389308888847_1053861072_nYou can have a perfectly nice bento even with minimal cooking. There are plenty of vegetables that can be eaten raw, nuts are a great source of protein when you don’t want to cook meat, and berries are a great source of antioxidants. I did a little research on what are the best/healthiest food to eat, but most of them focuses on the body instead of the effect on the skin. However, I found this little handy guide from nuts.com about what are the best food for achieving a summer glow.nuts.com_summer_glow_x2_v04Aside from matcha, which you can drink or make into dessert, everything else can be tucked into a bento or great as snack with minimal clean up required. Aside from bentos, there’s nothing much going on in the beauty department. After much hem and haw, I finally decided to start using retinol so samples with glycolic, salicylic or alcohol have been put on halt. Have you used retinol? How do you like it?

Skin condition: I’ve been waking up with oil around my nose, but miraculously, without any breakouts. *fingers crossed*. It’s probably partially due to me eating healthy and due to the retinol serum. The retinol made my pores look better after a week, but my skin started getting more sensitive on the second week, so I’ve been using it on every other day. I think it’s more due to the toner than the serum, so I plan on switching it.

Products used: I haven’t been using a lot of products since I want to see what retinol does. Aside from Fresh Sugar Polish twice a week and GlamGlow Supermud once every two weeks, I haven’t tried anything else. Daily regimen as follows:

  • Peter Thomas Roth Anti-aging cleanser
  • Finished Omorovicza Queen Hungary mist, then used Clarins Toning Lotion with Iris.
  • Peter Thomas Roth Retinol PM
  • Clinique Moisture Surge or Dr. Jart+ Water-Max Sleeping Mask
  • AmorePacific Natural Protector SPF30

My skin feels fine the first week with Omorovicza mist as toner and then retinol serum, but when I switched to the Clarins toner for combo/oily skin, it seems to dry me out a little and the combo made my skin a tad more sensitive and oily. I decided to repurchase my holy grail Dior Toning Lotion with Velvet Peony and ditched Clarins, so I should have less sensitivity/oily issues from now on.

Other influences: Eating healthy made sure that my skin doesn’t act up as much. However, the lack of oil/meat in my diet made my skin a tad more dry I think. Eating lots of nuts helped, and I’ve started taking omega-3 in hopes of it helping my hair, but it should help my skin as well.

Leave a Reply

