Ingredient/Sheet Masks Highlight: When life gives you lemons…

Make honeyed lemon slices, make lemonade, throw it at someone… There are numerous uses for fresh lemons and they are wonderful for your health when consumed. However, I would advise against using lemon or lime juice in skincare DIYs. First of all, they are extremely acidic and the ph varies from fruit to fruit, so it is very potent and can irritate the skin. It can cause skin sensitivity and the phototoxic reaction when your skin is exposed to sun gives you redness, burning or even darker pigmentation. With that said, lemon and lime are wonderful ingredients in properly formulated skincare.20151113_105434

Lemon and lime are a great source of calcium, magnesium, potassium and vitamin C. The citric acid in the fruit helps to fade dark spots and evens your skintone. They are also antibacterial and antifungal, which is great for acne-prone skin.

Skin Type: Acne prone and oily

Purpose: Brightens, clarifies pores and control oil (it is slightly drying).

My Beauty Diary Citrus Firming Aroma Mask

20151113_105622

The mask has a citrus scent, more sweet than zesty. The paper cloth sheet is thin but sturdy and smooth. The essence is liquidy and absorbs easily after taking the sheet off. There’s a little leftover you can massage on, but it doesn’t feel stuffy at all and doesn’t irritate. I’m not sure about firming but my skin feels moisturized and my pores look clean the next day.

Innisfree It’s Real Squeeze Mask, Lime

20151113_105558

The mask smells like zesty lime cleaner. The paper cloth sheet is smooth and sturdy. The essence is liquidy and feels a tad uncomfortable on my sensitive skin when I first put on, so I would not recommend for super sensitive/irritated skin. The essence absorbs quickly, my skin feels moisturized and pores clear.

THEFACESHOP Real Nature Mask, Lemon

20151113_105532

The mask has a mild scent of lemon cleaner. The sheet is a thin sturdy paper cloth, and drippy with liquidy essence when I took it out. There is enough serum leftover for massage and next day. It feels nice on the skin, no irritation or stuffy/greasy feeling. My skin feels hydrated and clean and smooth after taking off. Best for all skin types but dry skin need a moisturizer.

Etude House Essential Mask Sheet, Lemon

20151113_105500

The mask has a mild scent of lemon household cleaner. The mask is drippy since the essence is so liquidy. The sheet have a very slight texture but is thin and sturdy. It was long enough for my face but a tad narrower than average. There are a lot of leftover serum even after you massage it on, so you can save it for next day. My skin feel smooth and does look a tad brighter. However, it made my acne area feel a tad itchy…. so I’m not sure about this mask.

Overall, citrus fruit in skincare are great source of vitamin C and helps to brighten the skin, but I would not recommend DIY using extremely acidic fruit such as lemon or lime. If you want to use fruits with more neutral ph like strawberries, then go ahead. In terms of the sheet masks, I like My Beauty Diary the best. Innisfree seems a tad more potent and not recommended for sensitive skin. THEFACESHOP is nice as well but I would not recommend Etude House.

One thought on “Ingredient/Sheet Masks Highlight: When life gives you lemons…

Leave a Reply

