Beauty Obsessed Tag

I got tagged by my dear friend Jenn from BeautyByJelllybean (who also have a great Instagram!) to talk a little about my obsession, thus the Beauty Obsessed Tag. It’s a nice change of pace from the usual information or product post, so read on if you want to know about some interesting (or not so interesting) things about my beauty stuff. Also, I’m tagging anyone who wants to join in on the fun! =D

And now, let’s talk beauty!

20160428_143748

Do you remember your first makeup item?
Yeah, about that….. I was walking past a Benefit counter in the department store one day with my friend and got roped in by a friendly and chatty sales guy for a makeover. He put a bunch of products on me while telling me how this is so amazing and what wonderful thing that does. I was a tomboy and didn’t know anything about makeup or skincare, but he and my friend showered me with compliment about this brown lipstick he put on me.

Yes, it was actually milk chocolate brown without a hint of red or pink. I ended up buying it and wore it once for an award ceremony. When I saw the picture, I swore never to wear brown lipstick again and never to shop beauty with that friend again. This was a decade ago, but it is the reason why I’m SUPER skeptical about beauty products and never trusts sales associates.

What kind of coverage do you prefer from foundation?

I prefer a light-medium coverage… actually I prefer BB cream more. =P

Favorite high end brand?

Guerlain, I can’t stop collecting those shiny balls. =O
I’m not one of those super hardcore fans that have every single collection, but it’s the brand I follow most closely and I’ve got 7 jars of meteorites among other things.

In terms of skincare, I go by products instead of brands. As a rule of thumb I would call myself a fan of a brand only if I would repurchase 10+ items or 80%+ of their products. Sunday Riley, Fresh and Peter Thomas Roth would be the closest to getting there.

What cosmetic brands have you always wanted to try but still haven’t?

Oh my god, Sulwhasoo ShineClassic Compacts! They are absolutely gorgeous works of art, except more expensive than Guerlain and only available in Korea. But seriously, they are gorgeous. But in terms of makeup I can actually get my hands on, Cle de Peau highlighter.

Favorite drugstore brand?

Maybelline or Covergirl for mascaras. I use mascaras maybe twice a year, so no point to splurge on it.

Do you wear fake lashes?

No, I have some and tried them just to see how they look/feel but too much hassle. If I have time for falsies I’d rather spend a little more time on masks and essence, lol.

Is there any kind of makeup you can’t leave the house without?

I’m barefaced most of the time. I love makeup, I’m just too lazy and too busy, lol. Most of the time when I do put on makeup, I curl my lashes, put on some BB cream, dust of Guerlain meteorites and a tinted lip balm.

What is your most cherished makeup product?

My Guerlain meteorites collection, they are so pretty~~~ ❤

Do you utilize coupons, rewards cards and sales when you shop for cosmetics?

Definitely! I have expensive taste but am on a student’s budget, so any time I see something I want, I write it down. I have a list of things I want and I don’t buy unless I see a good % off, $$ off or gift with purchase that I wanted. The exception being Guerlain LE meteorites. =)

Sephora have % off twice a year and $ off early December, so I always wait for those when it comes to big items. Beauty.com and Ulta also have discounts at random times if you buy a mix of drugstore and mid-end. And of course sign up for brand websites for discounts. I try to shop online so I can get cashback from Ebates (here’s my referral), and if you have a bit of free time, you can earn giftcards from Bing Rewards and Swagbucks. I’m too busy to use them now but I have gotten Sephora/Amazon giftcards from those sites in the past.

What type of product do you buy the most of?

Skincare, especially masks, set of minis and toners. In terms of makeup, Guerlain meteorites and makeup sets, I’m weak to minis.

Do you like colorful shades of makeup (lipstick, blush, etc.) or neutral ones?

I used to love colorful eyeshadows but I really don’t wear them. Nowadays I like my eye makeup to be jewel-toned or warm, and lip colors to be pink or coral.

What is your favorite eyeshadow color?

Orange, whether it’s bright orange or shimmery orange or orange brown.

Is there a brand that you absolutely can’t stand?

I have never, and will not, use Lime Crime. I’m sure some of the dramas are exaggerated, but harassing bloggers or handing out bloggers’ personal information without permission is not cool. I work in computer security so I know how security breach gets dramatized by the media and that it can happen to every company, but I’m not a fan of how they handled it. I have friends who do use their products and I don’t scold them, but they know my stance. I’ll stop here but google for more information if you are curious.

Do you like trying new skincare products or do you keep a certain routine?

I love to try new skincare! I get fidgety and bored if I don’t try something new after a week. There are products that I’m hesitant to change, like the Dior Toning Lotion with Velvet Peony and the couple of products mentioned in my Skincare Essentials.

Favorite bath and body brand?

L’occitane for shampoo and Bliss for body butter. I don’t care much about soap or shaving stuff as long as it gets things done without drying or irritating my skin. =)

If you could only buy from one brand, which brand would you choose?

I’m assuming makeup, in which case Guerlain. If skincare…… oh dear……Bosci….Tatc…not quite….hmm….Peter Thomas R….well….Sunday Riley or Fresh? yes, let’s go with that.

What brand do you think has the best packaging?

Guerlain Meteorites! I also love the packaging of Laduree Rose Petal Blush, but the other products can look a bit childish since it’s made of plastic.

Which celebrity always has great makeup?

I don’t follow celebrities, hmm, I have some pictures of celebrity with makeup I like, but I’m sure they are photoshoped so I don’t know, lol.

Do you belong to any online makeup communities?

I used to literally live on BeautyTalk, Sephora’s online beauty community, which is why occasionally they send me stuff to review. But I don’t go there often now, so I think I probably will be getting less and less freebies *sad face*. I’m too busy with work nowadays, so I barely have enough time for the blog, instagram and facebook.

5 Favorite Beauty/Lifestyle Influencers

Beauty…kpop in general and my friends on Facebook. In terms of fashion/lifestyle, I love sketches from Garance Dore. I used to follow her back when she just did sketch and photography, and it’s what inspired my chic, minimal with a hint of cute/sexy style.

Do you like multifunctional products like lip and cheek stains?

Most multifunctional products shine for one usage, but fail for others. It’s the same for beauty and skincare, so I get extra skeptical when I see products marketed as lip and cheek stain, or makeup removing toning cleanser. I do sometimes put a dab of lip balm on my cheek/nose to prevent windchapped skin and such, but usually I stick to one use.

Are you clumsy while putting on makeup?

Well, the folds on my eyelid are uneven and I have a scar on the outer corner of one, so I’ve given up trying to get a symmetric cat eye. The world can end tomorrow or I can spend 103403 hours on makeup, eitherway, ChicDabbler’s cateye will always have uneven flicks, deal with it. Other than that, usually not clumsy anymore.

Do you use makeup base/primer for the eyes?

Nope, most good quality eyeshadow/liner are vibrant and last long enough for me (Tom Ford eyeshadow, Marc Jacob eyeliner). But when I do, Nars is my favorite.

What do you love about makeup?

The colors, the finish, the texture! I love art, and makeup is really just like art on your face, whether it’s modern minimalism (everyday/business look) or more colorful/dramatic looks.

Feel free to post in your own blog, or comment down below. I may not always have time for a full blog post, but I always have time to chat beauty. =)

4 thoughts on “Beauty Obsessed Tag

  1. Yay! Love your responses! Thank you so much for answering ❤ And I promise I won't steer you to brown lipsticks! Unless I'm really sure it will be perfect on you…

Leave a Reply

