March Skincare Journal, and GM Diet!

Happy Easter everyone! This will be the last diet I try, partially because I’m getting tired of dieting and partially because there are actually very few (free) diet plans that focus on sustainable healthy lifestyle rather than fast weight loss. Also, the more weight I lose, the more difficult it is to keep at it. My progress has flatlined after losing 20lbs. In order to lose the remaining 20lbs, I will have to make portion control and exercise a habit instead of just temporary measures. There’s no way to get around that, no matter what anyone claims. 

Supposedly this diet plan came from GM, thus it is called the GM Diet. It is a week long diet that helps you to form healthy lifestyle habits as well as lose weight (10-17lbs is what they claim). Here’s the plan:

  • Day 1 – eat only fruit but no bananas. Melons preferred.
  • Day 2 – eat only vegetables. A potato allowed but no more starch than that. Also, no dressing or dairy on your vegetables.
  • Day 3 – eat only fruit and vegetables, but no banana or potato.
  • Day 4 – 3 glass of milk and up to 8 bananas. As much special soup as you want.
  • Day 5 – 6 tomato and <20 oz of lean meat/beef. Drink ~1 qt more water than usual.
  • Day 6 – protein and vegetables, unlimited amount.
  • Day 7 – vegetables, fruit juice and brown rice, unlimited amount.

I followed the details and recipe for special soup from here. At first I was able to follow the diet exactly, although the first day was a little too much sugar. I started losing weight on day 3 and lost 4lbs by the end of week long diet. However, I overate on day 5 and didn’t exercise at all during the week. You can definitely drop 10lbs+ if you don’t binge eat and actually exercise a bit everyday. The advantage of this diet is you don’t starve yourself, it’s healthy food and you do lose weight. The disadvantage is that it’s difficult to adjust if you need a variety of food and easy to gain the weight back. I did get something good out of the diet, since I enjoy eating vegetables a bit more now and don’t crave meat as much. So that is that, I’m now back to good old portion control and exercise. Now, onto the skincare journal…

Skin condition: The weather is getting warmer and less dry, so I decided to stop using my humidifier. OH HELL NO! said my skin. It was irritated, red, bumpy, flaky and super dry. I switched my skincare to all super gentle products and also lighter moisturizer. It is no longer red and doesn’t hurt anymore, but my skin has become very rough, dry and bumpy. With that said, it’s not all due to the dry weather. I’ve also been staying up until 4am many days due to work and sudden dietary changes probably didn’t help much either.

Products used: I never gave Peter Thomas Roth Irish Mud mask much thought before, but surprisingly it has become an essential for this month. I needed a mask that purifies pores but is SUPER gentle and hydrating. This fits the bill perfectly since most pore related masks tend to be a little drying at least. I’ve used Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion and sheet masks a few times as well. As for the rest of my regimen:

  • Su:m37 Rose Cleansing Stick
  • Dior Toning Lotion
  • Boscia Tsubaki Oil
  • AmorePacific Natural Protector SPF30

I’m itching to play with my serums and toners, but I need to fix my skin first so it’s only the basic right now. I uses Sisley Paris Black Rose mask sometimes, but mostly Boscia Tsubaki oil all over my face.

Other influences: Staying up until 2-4am half the time and exercise maybe once a week have been pretty terrible on my skin. Sudden dietary change may affect the skin, but I don’t think this is the problem this time. I’ve also been trying to drink more water and found this SUPER CUTE phone app to help — Plant Nanny!

Screenshot_2016-03-27-15-13-51 share_temp

Basically you input your height, weight, exercise habit and it will tell you how much water you need to drink. You can set reminder every few hours, and every time you drink water you just need to open it and press an icon to “water the plant”. The plant will level up, give you seeds that allows you to buy more plants. How adorable is that??? It has motivated me to drink more water. Now, if only there’s something just as cute for portion control and exercise…..

Leave a Reply

