Ingredient/Sheet Masks Highlight: Mung Beans!

Mung beans are my favorite type of beans. In addition to all the benefits of normal beans (full of fiber, low calories etc), the proteins, tannins and flavonoids in mung beans are effective for binding to and clearing pesticides and heavy metals like mercury and lead from the body. It helps with digestion and to detox the body, which make sense since I’ve come across quite a few cleansing/detox diet that consists of brown rice and mung bean stew (much healthier than strange vegetable/fruit juice if you ask me). It is very popular in China, especially in the summer, since it helps to reduce heat/inflammation. It is delicious and you can find bags of it at any Asian grocery store, so I would recommend giving it a try!

20160220_111154

Since it’s so great as food, I guess it isn’t surprising to realize it’s great for skin as well. Chinese mung beans provide anti-inflammatory benefits. The phytoestrogens in mung beans contain anti-aging properties that stimulate the production of hyaluronic acid, collagen and elastin. They also contain vitamins A, Bs, C, D, E, K, folic acid, potassium, magnesium and zinc.

Skin type: Appropriate for all skin types, especially mature or those prone to inflammation/irritation.

Purpose: Soothing and anti-aging with plenty of anti-oxidants.

Wei Stress-Relieving Soothing Mask20160220_111223

It has a very minty fresh scent and there’s a cooling/tingling sensation. My skin was slightly irritated before using it, so it felt uncomfortable going on, but it was soon replaced by a cool refreshing feeling that lasted even after I took the mask off. The sheet is thin but sturdy and normal size, but the mouth cutout is a little small. The essence is a gel serum consistency. After I took the sheet off, my skin felt hydrated and calm. I did need a little bit of moisturizer after the essence was absorbed, but my skin does look calm and purified (pores clean) the next morning.

Usually, I do NOT recommend reusing sheet masks because 1) the sheet is too fragile and gets damaged in a gentle washing and 2) there’s never enough leftover liquid for sheet to absorb so you are left with dry patches and all the essence stay absorbed in the sheet instead of your skin. However, there was half tube of essence, about .7oz, left after I pulled the mask out! The mask didn’t look worse for wear after I gently rubbed and rinsed it clean, so I squeeze mask dry, rolled it back up and stuff it back into the tube. I shook/tap it to get the air out and let it sit overnight to let essence absorb. Yup, it works for a 2nd use. It’s a great mask for light hydration, relaxation and to purify the skin. It’s not for irritated or super dry skin, but I bet it would feel fantastic on a hot and stuffy summer day.

THEFACESHOP Real Nature Mask, Mung Bean20160220_111205

The essence is very liquidy and almost drippy, with a slightly floral tea scent. The sheet is thin but sturdy and adheres well to the skin. The essence absorbs easily and feels cool on the skin. After taking the mask off, my skin felt calm, moisturized and clean. There is enough liquid to massage on or save for next day.

Final Thoughts: Wei is more expensive at $12 per mask, but it is relaxing, hydrating and purifying and I get 2 uses out of one mask. It’s not for dry or easily irritated skin but I bet it would feel fantastic on a summer night. THEFACESHOP is more to my liking since it doesn’t burn on irritated skin. It is also hydrating and purifying and it’s $2 so….a pretty good deal if you ask me. =)

3 thoughts on “Ingredient/Sheet Masks Highlight: Mung Beans!

    1. I was surprised by how much liquid it soaked in! It soaked up ~.5oz of liquid, and most masks (all the other masks I’ve tried) never have that much leftover, which is why reusing other masks gives subpar results and are not worth the trouble. If I didn’t reuse the Wei mask, the liquid will probably last me like, a month! =O

Leave a Reply

