Irritated skin? Try Sunday Riley, PTR or Erborian Cleansing Balms!

It’s been SO COLD lately! Negative degree weather is already bad enough, add harsh wind and ice on top, it’s a perfect recipe for red, dry, irritated and wind-chapped skin. While I love my cleansing water, cleansing balms are definitely more moisturizing and I need every bit of hydration/calming I can get. The three balms that caught my interest are Sunday Riley Blue Moon, Peter Thomas Roth 24K Gold and Erborian so I got samples of them to test.20160201_152254

Without further ado, let’s get to it!

Peter Thomas Roth 24K Gold Pure Luxury Cleansing Butter

It is a golden translucent gooey gel balm with gold shimmer and a mild sweet scent. It turns into a soft creamy balm on the skin but never melted into oil. It does leave a residue, which is why they recommended using a konjac sponge to wipe everything off. It cleans well, is gentle around eye area and certainly feels luxurious. However, konjac sponges are exfoliating and can be too much if you are using this everyday (or twice daily! as direction stated). If you don’t want to replace the sponge every two month, you can use a cloth to wipe off as well. It’s a nice balm with nice ingredients, but not amazing and the need for sponge is kind of a minus for me.

Erborian Solid Cleansing Oil

It is a translucent green oil balm with a fresh, juicy scent. It turns into a softer balm as I rub it onto the skin, and turns milky when rinsing off. It does leave a residue but after a second cleansing, my skin feels incredibly soft. With that said, I noticed I was getting some whiteheads/clogged pores after consecutive days of use, so I would not recommend it for oily skin or if you are prone to clogged pores. It didn’t necessarily irritate but feels a little uncomfortable around the eye area, so I wouldn’t use it to remove eye makeup if you have sensitive skin.

Sunday Riley Blue Moon Tranquility Cleansing Balm

I’ve been kind of impressed by Sunday Riley products in the past so I have high expectations. It is a slightly waxy/grainy blue balm that softens as you rub it into the skin. It have a mild chocolate orange scent that comes from blue tansy, a rising star in skincare for it’s wonderful ability to calm inflammation and heal the skin. I used this right after coming inside from windy freezing weather so my skin was dry and irritated. This helped to noticeably calm my skin down, as if I never went outside. My skin felt velvety smooth and moisturized. You are suppose to be able to use it as a mask as well, but I don’t want dirty makeup sitting on my face for 20min. Supposedly you don’t NEED another cleanser after this, but the pores on my cheek felt a bit stuffy so unless you have very dry skin, I recommend follow up with a cleanser. It is calming, healing and moisturizing and I love it.

How good is a makeup remover at removing makeup? I’ve dabbled in cleansing balm before, and Clinique Take the Day Off Balm was the best. It melts into oil as you rub it onto the skin and rinses off cleanly, not to mention it takes off all the makeup within like, 15 seconds. I tested these three balm on some of the most smudgeproof makeup I have (Stila liquid eyeliner, Marc Jacob Highliner, Kat von D lipstick, Hourglass liquid lipstick, and Benefit foundation).

20160205_143033

Sunday Riley Blue Moon works the fastest and already got most of the lip color and foundation off after 10 gentle rubs. I rinsed them off after 30 seconds on the skin and majority of the makeup are definitely gone. It is generally recommended to massage the balm onto the face for 1-2 minutes, especially if you wear waterproof makeup so all of them works.

Final verdict? I would not recommend Erborian due to fragrance (and it didn’t remove makeup as well as the other two). Peter Thomas Roth 24K feels nice but I’m not a fan of the sponge and Sunday Riley is just slightly better at removing makeup. Not only that, Sunday Riley helped to calm my red and irritated skin, which is important to me in this wintry weather so I end up buying a full size. If you want a makeup remover that is moisturizing, gentle around the eye area as well as calming/soothing, I would definitely recommend Sunday Riley Blue Moon. If you don’t have sensitive or super dry skin and only care about removing makeup well, Clinique Take the Day Off Balm is definitely the best.

3 thoughts on “Irritated skin? Try Sunday Riley, PTR or Erborian Cleansing Balms!

  1. Thanks for this great review. I’ve tried the PTR and Erborian and don’t think either can remove makeup like the Clinique balm. I have a Sunday Riley sample that I want to try. I might love it, but from your review I’m thinking I might not find anything better than my Take the Day Off!

    1. It does remove the makeup well, but it’s thicker and more waxy than Clinique. Unless you need the extra bit of calming and moisturizing it gives, there’s no reason to switch over from the Clinique balm. =)

Leave a Reply

