Valentia Mask and Eye Cream

With winter still in full swing, I’ve been loading up on all my moisturizing products (gentle cleanser, hydrating masks, hydrating toner, hydrating essence, eye cream, face cream etc). I’m not very fond of the Algenist eye cream I’m currently using and is looking around for some better ones when I came upon Valentia offering their Ultra Plumping Hydration Mask and True Glow Eye Cream for review. Valentia uses natural ingredients, mostly organic and plant derived, which sounds like what I’m looking for. Let’s hope the products work as well as they sound. Disclaimer: Whether a product was provided for free or bought by me have no influence on my opinion of the product.

20160205_112816

The ingredients consist of some basics such as aloe vera, glycerin, vitamin E etc and some great ones such as hyaluronic acid, silk protein and CoQ10, which are not only moisturizing but also great for anti-aging. While I don’t have wrinkles or mature skin yet, I’m starting to notice fine lines when I smile and light pigmentation/spots on my cheeks, so these ingredients are right up my alley.

Ultra Plumping Hydration Mask

20160205_113048

There is no seal outside or inside the jar, I kind of wish there were but it’s not a big deal. The mask is a gel pudding texture with opaque yellow color. It’s got a sweet and fruity scent, the scent tones down after you apply the mask. It’s not an unpleasant scent but it does linger so keep that in mind if you hate or is allergic to fragrance. There’s a cool, tingling sensation when going on. The tingling sensation is from hyaluronic acid so it should be ok for sensitive skin as well. While you can rinse most of it off, it does leave a residue so you need to finish off by wiping with warm water and cloth like the instruction mentioned.  It feels refreshing on the skin and leaves the skin feeling more hydrated and soft after taking it off. It definitely helped to improve my skin’s hydration level over the past few days of using it.

True Glow Eye Cream

20160205_112853

The eye cream have a plastic seal outside and is in a pump bottle. The product itself is a peach colored lightweight cream with a citrusy scent. It moisturizes and absorbs nicely, leaving a velvety smooth finish. It is still a cream so apply sparingly if you want to use it under makeup during the day. I get dry eyelid sometimes so I hate the eye creams that have shimmer (for brightening effect) or strong fragrance that can irritate when I apply too close to eyes or on eyelid. Most anti-aging eye creams tend to be too rich for my combination skin and gives me milia. This moisturizes all around the eye area, including the eyelid, without feeling stuffy and absorbs well.

Overall: I’ll admit, I’m suspicious of overly flowery/glowing reviews from sponsored products in general. Some effects, such as diminishing wrinkles and firming may take weeks to become noticeable, so I can’t tell much about the Ultra Firming Hydration Mask beyond the fact it hydrates. I still like my Fresh Rose and FAB Oatmeal masks better for hydration, but I am a fan of the eye cream! It contains vitamin C and hyaluronic acid, two of my favorite ingredients, and also moisturizes well even on the eyelid. I think it’s worth the price and would recommend it if you are looking for an eye cream that moisturizes well, good for sensitive eye area, early signs of aging and isn’t too rich/thick or expensive. So, what eye cream are you using this winter?

3 thoughts on “Valentia Mask and Eye Cream

Leave a Reply

