Looking for natural cleansers? Try Oz Naturals Ocean Mineral Cleanser

I got into Korean skincare last year, and is getting more interested in natural products this year. I recently joined BrandBacker, where you get to choose what products you are interested in trying/reviewing (instead of doing a bunch of stuff and sent things you may not like). Anyways, as I was browsing, Oz Naturals caught my interest. Oz Naturals products are cruelty-free, paraben free, sulfate free, mineral oil free, lanolin free and gluten free. I usually don’t care about all that, since most products with those claims are either expensive or ineffective. This cleanser is reasonably priced at $23, especially for the amount of good/non-filler ingredients it contains (organic aloe vera and rosehip oil? yes please~~~) so I was excited to try it. Disclaimer: Whether a product was provided for free or bought by me have no influence on my opinion of the product.

20160201_150126

It also managed to avoid my major pet peeves about skincare products: the ingredients list is clearly printed on the tube, it comes with a seal and a human readable expiration date! You know, ones like 09/2016 instead of 19DG9A or something. There are way too many products that focuses on fancy packaging instead of sanitary/convenience. *sigh*

20160201_150158

As for the product itself, it is a clear, runny gel cleanser with a very very mild fresh/clean scent. It doesn’t foam, but does lather a bit. It feels gentle on the skin, but make sure to squeeze your eyes shut tightly since I accidentally got a little in and it stung a bit more than my other cleansers. It rinses off easily, leaving the skin feeling clean and soft.

The website description says “These ocean minerals nourish and repair dry skin, blemishes, skin lesions, and rough, damaged skin, while botanicals soothe and stimulate cellular regeneration.” I only tried it for 4 days so I’m not sure regeneration and repairing the skin, but it is gentle/soothing. It cleanses without drying the skin, so I would say it is appropriate for all skin types.

20160201_201354

In terms of removing makeup, I tried it over waterproof makeup (Marc Jacob Highliner for eyes, Hourglass Liquid lipstick in Iconic, the red dot) and normal makeup (Stila liquid eyeliner, Amazing Cosmetic concealer and Urban Decay Revolution lipstick). It took ~30 seconds before normal makeup starts to dissolve and it couldn’t remove waterproof makeup. So it is on par with normal cleanser. In general, if you are wearing anything more than a light layer of powder, you should use a makeup remover before cleansing.

I got this Oz Naturals Ocean Mineral Cleanser from Amazon. While I prefer something with more oil-control/purifying properties in the summer, I do enjoy using this gentle cleanser in the winter. What cleansers are you using this winter?

One thought on “Looking for natural cleansers? Try Oz Naturals Ocean Mineral Cleanser

Leave a Reply

