Yes to eggs? DIY mask for acne, white/blackheads and pores.

While cooking yesterday, one of the egg was stuck to the cartoon and cracked when I tried to pull it out. I’ve got two options: cook it anyways, or finally try that DIY mask I’ve been putting on the back burner. Guess which option I chose? Hint: this is not a post about how to cook your eggs, at least I don’t think this recipe will be very tasty. I’ve come across DIY face masks with egg whites but it never piqued my interest. Things like eggs, avocado and fruits are stuff I’d rather eat than put on my face. But, I figured why not try it once?

20150321_184705

Egg, or more specifically egg white, is a popular ingredients in skincare DIY. Egg whites are high in collagen, protein and vitamin A, which helps with skin elasticity and is great for sensitive or aging skin. It also contains enzymes that kill acne-causing bacteria so it is good for pores, oily and acne prone skin as well (but I think that depends more on what other ingredients you pair it with). I have a bit of breakout going on, so I went with a mask for acne-prone skin.

Ingredients

  • 1 egg white (moisturizes and tightens pores)
  • 6 drops of lemon juice (brightening and dries up blemish)
  • 1/4 tsp of honey (anti-bacterial and moisturizing)

Instructions

  1. Mix ingredients together until frothy, it’s important to get the egg white frothy for the most skincare benefit, or so I heard.
  2. Apply to cleansed skin, wait 5-10 minutes then rinse off (if you used less lemon juice, you can leave it on for longer. Or rinse off sooner if you feel irritation coming). Continue with toner, serum whatever the rest of your skincare regimen is.
  3. It makes enough for 2 uses when applied to face only, or one use when applied to face down to neckline. NOTE: Do NOT keep the mask for more than two days! Put it in the fridge if you have leftover for next day.

That is all, pretty simple, right? I made my mask then applied it to the skin with my fingers. It’s a bit thin/slippery and just feels wet on the skin. As it dries, I can feel a mild tingling from the lemon that subsided after a few minutes, and it does pull/tighten as if I were using a peel-off mask. To my disappointment, it does not peel off. I rinsed off, then for good measure also wiped with facial cloth because egg white on skin overnight does not seem sanitary. My skin feels clean, soft and smooth. My pores are clean but not smaller. I did feel very mild sting on cheeks when applying alcohol-free toner afterward, prob due to lemon but otherwise no problem. For dry or sensitive skin, skip the lemon juice and use yogurt or avocado instead. My skin does looks nicer with blemish size reduced afterwards. My skin produced less oil but it wasn’t as drying as I feared.

HOWEVER, I wouldn’t really recommend DIY egg white masks. Raw egg whites may contain bacteria that can wreak havoc on your skin, and it doesn’t keep well (you might be adventurous enough to eat raw eggs, but would you eat raw egg that sat in the fridge overnight or for days?) and you should not keep it for more than a day.

I can attest to the fact that egg does do good things for the skin, but I would recommend buying skincare products instead of DIY it yourself (too risky). Fortunately egg white products are available from plenty of good Korean skincare brands, such as Skin Food, TonyMoly, Too Cool for School etc. If you are curious about eggs in skincare, I would recommend giving them a try instead of doing a DIY.tonymoly_tony_moly_egg_pore_set_dscr0

Leave a Reply

