Skincare Journal, December. Happy New Year! And No More Microbeads!

It’s New Year’s Eve tomorrow, hope everyone is safe and healthy and not getting too stressed out from the holidays… like getting your face and body moisturizer mixed up. So, the thing is I have a jar of Belif Aqua Bomb and Belif Moisturizing Bomb. Both have the EXACT SAME packaging except the color of blue stripe is darker on one. I finished using Aqua Bomb and put Bliss body butter in there last month (cut the tube to get the last bits). One day in mid-December, I just washed my face and applied “Moisturizing Bomb”….. then turned around and saw another Belif jar…… then read the label and realized I just applied Bliss body butter in the Aqua Bomb jar to my face instead of Moisturizing Bomb.

20151209_200207.jpg

………..and actually, I don’t know how long I’ve been mistakenly used it on my face!!!!!!! So, erm, if anyone is wondering about using body cream on the face, Bliss didn’t gave me any breakouts, hahaha…haha….haa……*sigh*….Also, if you are putting stuff in jars, don’t put it in the same jar as the moisturizer you are currently using. ChicDabbling does not endorse using body cream on your face.

Also, no more microbeads! I mentioned why it’s bad and recommended alternatives early last year. In short, it’s not biodegradable so it gets in the water and is bad for the fishes. On Dec 29, the Microbead-Free Waters Act of 2015 was passed, banning the addition of synthetic/plastic microbeads in beauty products. Even though you can choose a sugar, nutshell or rice powder based scrub, some of them still have microbeads added in. If you don’t like reading the ingredients, BeatTheMicrobeads have an app that checks for microbead for you and lists of products containing microbeads by countries. It will be a few years before the bill goes into effect and microbeads product gets pulled, so it would be good to check out.

Skin Condition: Eating healthier and exercising have certainly helped keeping oil and breakouts under control. However, I’ve been having dry skin and bumps, so I’m trying to find a good balance between piling on all the moisturizers/facial oils and trying to exfoliate off everything.

Products Used: I’ve been using my Foreo Luna for cleansing and Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion to exfoliate. I’m so used to exfoliating 3x per week with physical scrub but with Dr. Brandt I need to cut it down to once a week due to the acid/chemical component or else I get dry skin. I also finally using up Chantecaille Healing Mask, and aside from that the rest of the products are from my daily regimen:

  • Murad Essential C Cleanser, finished and now using Su:m37 Rose Cleansing Stick
  • Dior Toning Lotion with Velvet Peony Extract, savior of my dry/irritated skin
  • Peter Thomas Roth Retinol PM serum
  • Algenist Complete Renewal Eye Balm
  • Tatcha Indigo cream or Kate Somerville Dilo Oil
  • Peter Thomas Roth Daily Defense Lotion SPF 30

I was low on Dior but really didn’t like the essence I switched to, so I think I’ll have to open the one backup bottle I have left. PTR retinol didn’t seem to be too harsh, so I might add SK-II essence (which I do like) back into the routine again.

Other Influences: I have been writing down how much of everything I ate for the last couple of weeks. And I found something surprising………. I need to eat less than I thought I do! Sometimes a portion looks small and I eat more so I don’t get hungry later, or I would think of food and get “hungry”. That made me realize that half of the time when I’m “hungry”, it was really just a desire to eat, not because my body needs food. And hunger is not necessarily a bad thing, it allows me to gauge if I’m overeating and food taste more delicious when you are hungry. That is not to say I will be starving myself, but I now pay more attention when I’m “hungry”. Is it a craving that will disappear if I think about something else for 15 minutes? And after eating something, am I really still hungry or am I just thinking “that’s not enough” based on size?

Now, what does this have to do with skin journal? The thing is I’m currently overweight by about 20 lbs. As you get older your skin loses elasticity, so if you keep thinking “meh, I’ll lose weight later…. next month…. next year” your skin might not be as forgiving if you do it when you are older as suppose to now. You might look slimmer but it’s harder for your skin to recover, it might sag or get wrinkles. Since I’ve already put it off for 5 years ish, it’s time to stop waiting and do it NOW. I usually write a little about my diet and exercise here, but this section will become weight-loss journal from now on, and I might starting to post some pictures of food on Instagram if I can make something cute.

Goal: lose 40 lbs in four month, which should be healthy and doable.

Leave a Reply

