Sheet Masks/Ingredient Highlight: Rice

Rice is such an integral part of Asian diet and culture, that it is no surprise to see it in skincare as well. Rice is a rich source of linoleic acid, squalene, vitamin E and gamma oryznol, which helps reduce cholesterol and promote heart health. Squalene promotes the production of collagen in the skin, hydrates and offers protection from sun damage. Rice contains phytic acid, which exfoliates, increases blood flow and brightens the skin. Rice also have a cooling and soothing effect that helps heal acne and tones down redness.

In addition to its effect on the skin, rice is supposed to also be very beneficial for hair care as well. Rice water contains inositol, a carbohydrate that can repair and protect damaged hair. Rinsing your hair with rice water will decrease surface friction and improve hair elasticity. The amino acids in the rice water also strengthen the hair roots, add volume and sheen and make hair silky smooth. However, if you have hard water and your hair/scalp is prone to build up, the starch in rice water may build up over time so you need to take extra care to make sure it doesn’t happen.

20151006_121624

Skin Type: All types. Most rice focused skincares I’ve encountered are geared toward oily/combination or sensitive skin, but the sheet masks reviewed today are appropriate for dry skin as well.

Purpose: Rice is moisturizing, contains antioxidant, and have healing properties that help to improve circulation, prevent or fade age related spots, and ease inflammation. If you would like to read more in detail, check out this, this or this.

Etude House Essential Mask Sheet, Unpolished Rice
20151006_121636

It is a drippy folded sheet mask. The sheet is made of thin but sturdy paper cloth. The essence is a thin milky serum that smells of condensed milk (rice milk maybe?). The mask feels cool and wet on the skin. Skin feel moisturized after taking it off, but a tad greasy after massaging on the leftover. There’s plenty of essence left even after I massage it generously onto face and neck.

TonyMoly I’m Real Rice Mask Sheet
20151006_121710

The mask is made of a thin sturdy paper sheet with lots of cuts around the edge. The essence is a thin serum with a mild floral scent. It feels cool and wet on the skin when applied. Afterwards, my skin feels moisturized and it seems to help tone down the redness a little. Skin does feel a tad greasy after rubbing on leftover serum, so save it for next day.

THEFACESHOP Real Nature Mask, Rice

20151113_105708

The scent of alcohol! The scent might have been a floral one, but my nose is smarting like I just took a sniff of 99% alcohol. I put it on my face anyways, it feels cool and didn’t irritate, thankfully. The sheet is thin but sturdy, just a tad larger than my face. The serum is thin and liquidy and sinks in fast. My skin feels moisturized, not sure about brightening or other effects.

I think in terms of effect I like TonyMoly the best. I love eating my rice and my Tatcha Rice Enzyme Powders, but I’m not sure if I would intentionally seek it out in skincare products. What about you?

4 thoughts on “Sheet Masks/Ingredient Highlight: Rice

  1. I really enjoy the Tony Moly rice masks. It’s a go to when I have irritated skin. I do save the extra serum for the next day and use it in place of my night serum

    1. Nice! My favorite for irritated skin is FAB oatmeal mask, I really liked the sample I got before, but there’s so many masks I need to use up that I haven’t gotten the chance to buy it net. >.<

Leave a Reply

