Skincare Journal, November. Nature Republic Aloe Vera Gel

I love Korean pop and I love skincare, so naturally I ended up checking out skincare products endorsed by kpop stars. One of them happens to be Nature Republic Soothing Aloe Vera gel. I’m not sure if the popularity is because it’s endorsed by EXO (imagine multiple Justin Bieber and corresponding passionate fans) or because it’s actually a good product. Nature Republic is a pretty good brand, it’s not too expensive and it says 92% aloe vera, so I went ahead and bought it to see how good it is.


It’s suppose to be a gel that you can pretty much use for everything. When I got it, it’s a big jar of clear gel that smells like aloe vera and…. alcohol. I’m ok with alcohol in skincare, as long as it’s in low enough concentration that I can’t smell it. It made me tentative so I tried it on my body first. It’s a lightweight and refreshing gel that absorbs quickly into the skin without leaving any sticky or greasy residue. It provides lightweight hydrating and soothed my itchy mosquito bites. It’s a nice lightweight moisturizing gel to use in the summer when you don’t need too much hydration but feels hot and stuffy.

Since it was ok for body use, I then tried it on my face over the summer. It feels like a nice and refreshing gel going on and absorbs nicely. I checked my skin the next day, and it did hydrate a bit and makes the skin feel soft, but there’s no change in pores or redness. My skin didn’t feel as firm/plump as when I use one of my mid/high-end moisturizers. Despite the scent of alcohol, I’m surprised it didn’t irritate my skin, although I did not try it near the lashline as eye mask like the diagram suggested.

20151105_153839

It costs ~$8 ish, and it performs as you’d expect from an $8 moisturizer. If you have oily combination skin and want something cheap and basic, feel free to try it. However, I’d rather spend a few dollars more for products with a higher content of aloe vera and no alcohol. It’s not bad, I enjoy using it on my body, but there are better products and I will not be repurchasing.

ps. Don’t forget to enter the giveaway! Even if you are not interested in the products, a comment on how you like the blog so far is appreciated! Thanks!

Skin Condition: I hate to admit it, but my skin is finally showing signs of age. Yes I’m only in my late 20s and there are no obvious wrinkles yet *fingers crossed* but the acne marks doesn’t want to fade even weeks after the acne was gone, and slowly but surely, a dark spot is appearing on my cheek. I didn’t know what sunscreen was, and didn’t wear any until high school. They say sun damage accumulates and take 10-20 years to show up, so I guess it’s finally catching up to me? There are days where I’m lazy and would only cleanse and moisturize, but I guess I’ll have to use my array of serums more diligently.

I’ve been getting a few acne/whiteheads on the chin lately. I’m not sure if it’s due to my diet, or the fact that I switched from Clarisonic to Foreo Luna but did not exfoliate enough, or that it’s dry lately so I’ve been using clay masks less. It’s probably a combination of them, but they shouldn’t be hard to fix, although I admit I am a little depressed about that dark spot appearing right in the middle of my cheek. *sigh*

Products Used: I used up my tube of Sekkisei Kose peel off mask, and I’ve been diligently using the Duross Langel Green Tea Mud Mask since it’s got a short expiration date. Since I’ve switched from Clarisonic to Foreo Luna, I also started using Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion as exfoliant. Aside from a few sheet masks here and there, my daily regimen has been:

  • Murad Essential C cleanser
  • Clarins Toning Lotion with Iris
  • SK-II essence
  • Algenist Complete Eye Renewal Balm
  • A bazillion moisturizer packet samples
  • PTR All Day Defense Lotion SPF30

After this month, I’ve finished my Murad cleanser and SPF moisturizer. Haven’t decided on what cleanser I’m going to use next month yet, maybe Su:m37 Rose Cleansing Stick or Korres Milk Protein Cleanser. I will be using Supergoop Everyday Face&Body Lotion SPF30, and since my skin is wonky right now, I’m going back to my trusty Ole Henriksen Truth Serum instead of testing out a bazillion serums.

Other Influences: My urge for exercise decreases exponentially as the temperature drops, but I’ve been making sure to do at least some walking every day or every other day. I’ve finished most of Hum Nutrition Daily Cleanse and Flatter Me supplements, and I have been refraining from too much junk food, but sugar is still the most difficult to tackle. With Halloween candies and Thanksgiving, it’s….ugh…. I will persevere! >.<

Leave a Reply

