Cleansing Oil round 2: Tatcha, Boscia, and L’occitane

While my favorite makeup remover of choice is cleansing water, cleansing oil is quickly climbing up my list of favorites, especially now that winter is near and my skin is constantly feeling dry. I was surprised and impressed by Shu Uemura cleansing oil when I first tried it, so I then hoarded and tested some more cleansing oil over the summer, but it was kind of lackluster. That is, until I happen to try Tatcha, which I love as much as Shu Uemura. I also got a sample of Boscia Makeup-Breakup cleansing oil since I like their Purifying Cleanser. And I got a mini of L’occitane from a recent promotion, so I figured it’s a good time to do a comparison.

20150905_120339

Tatcha can be used as a cleanser AND makeup remover, while Boscia and L’occitane explicitly stated they are makeup removers not cleansers. However, the three I’m comparing today all rinse off cleanly so on especially exhausting days, I just wash off makeup with them followed by a few spritz of moisturizing facial spray before falling asleep and had no bad aftereffects. Still, I would recommend following the makeup remover (whether it’s water, oil, balm or wipe) with a real cleanser on most days, especially if you’ve got oily skin or is prone to acne/clogged pores, or wears heavy makeup.

In terms of how they feel on the skin:

Tatcha Pure One Step Camellia Cleansing Oil – It have an oil gel consistency, less greasy and a bit thicker than most cleansing oil. The consistency reminds me of Dior but fortunately is much better at removing makeup. It have a very very mild floral scent. It rinses off easily, leaving the skin hydrated but clean and not stuffy. It is also totally fine around the eye area as well, so I would say its appropriate for all skin types.

Boscia MakeUp BreakUp Cool Cleansing Oil – It is a lightweight oil with a herbal scent, which didn’t sting my eyes like Dermalogica but still feels a little uncomfortable when rubbed around eye area to remove eye makeup. It doesn’t feel greasy and rinses off easily and cleanly. The skin feels clean afterward although it didn’t really hydrate like Tatcha. I would say it’s appropriate for all skin types except sensitive and maybe don’t use around lashline/eye area.

L’occitane Immortelle Oil Makeup Remover – I have previously tried Immortelle Precious Cleansing Foam and it didn’t feel great on my skin, so I was a little tentative about trying this. However, it seems my skin likes this much better. It have the same mild floral scent as the rest of the immortelle line. It feels like a lightweight oil that you massage onto the skin and does not irritate when removing eye makeup. It rinses off easily with water, leaving the skin hydrated but not stuffy or greasy. It is appropriate for all skin types.

So all three of the oil cleansers feel fine on the skin. But which one is better at removing makeup? I tested them on swatch of Marc Jacob Highliner, Benefit Hello Flawless Liquid Foundation, and Hourglass Liquid LIpstick.  20150905_121913

For oil cleansers, you rub then on dry skin until makeup dissolves then rinse it off. I put a drop of cleanser on their respective swatches and did 30 rubs. Tatcha worked the fastest, altho the other two cleanser also started breaking down makeup. I then rinsed them off with water, and you can see how Tatcha removed almost everything, while Boscia still have a hint of eyeliner and L’occitane definitely needs a bit more time/effort.

Boscia is nice and inexpensive, but I would not recommend it around eye area if you are sensitive to fragrance. L’occitane is not bad if you usually wear very light makeup, not the waterproof type. My favorite as of now, are still Tatch and Shu Uemura. So, what oil cleansers do you like?

One thought on “Cleansing Oil round 2: Tatcha, Boscia, and L’occitane

Leave a Reply

