Foreo Luna Review, and Comparison to Clarisonic

Foreo Luna or Clarisonic? That was THE question I’ve been pondering for the whole summer before deciding on a Clarisonic first, then Foreo luna later if I have the chance. Well, I enjoyed using the Clarisonic because it helps to cleanse and exfoliate at the same time. However, there were some annoyance (that I will talk about later in the comparison) and my skin was getting drier and more sensitive in the winter. Just as I was thinking of getting the Foreo Luna from Sephora with the 20% off, I saw the Holiday Cleansing Collection with Boscia products online. So of course I ordered it.
20151031_161533

Then 3 days later, there was a GIGANTIC shipping box of 1ft by 1ft by 2ft by my door. “What the hell did they put in it??? I’m pretty sure the items in my order were only palm sized…” Well, turns out the holiday packaging is a long box where all the products are laid out side by side. It looks more festive/impressive as a gift I suppose. I went with the set because I’ve already tried Boscia Purifying Cleansing Gel and Boscia Tsubaki Beauty Oil and knew I like them. I was actually contemplating on getting them in the next few months before this. 20151031_16155820151031_161620

I have not tried the Vitamin C Brightening Hydrogel Mask yet, but I’m much more eager to try Foreo Luna, so the mask review will have to wait. As for the Foreo Luna cleansing device, it looks like they just grabbed a full size in all its packaging and put it inside the holiday collection packaging. The Foreo Luna came with a polyester/microfiber feel pouch, registration card, user manual and a usb charging cord. I was kind of annoyed that it didn’t come with a wall plug. Granted, there are a lot of usb to wall plug nowadays, but for a $200 device, it seems rather cheap/petty to not include a complete charging set.

20151031_161831

With that said, how well does Foreo Luna perform is what actually matters. The device needs to be charged before it can be used, and it only took ~45min to 1hr for it to be fully charged. Then it’s time to put it to the test! All the beauty blogger reviews I’ve read prefer this to Clarisonic, so now amazing is this?

The size of the Foreo Luna is slightly bigger than my palm. It is lightweight and feels just like a piece of hard plastic covered with silicone. You press the button/indent in the middle to turn it on the cleansing mode, the default is the maximum vibration/speed but you can hold the – or + to decrease or increase the speed. You press it a second time to put it on hold while you rinse, a third time to turn on the anti-aging mode with a lower set of vibration, then press again to turn it completely off. 20151031_162807

When cleansing, press it once to turn on, then touch the nubbly side to the skin with barely any pressure. You gently glide it from the chin and work your way up to the forehead. There’s a short buzz to remind you to move onto the next area of the face, and 3 short buzz when the minute is up and you should be done. However, it doesn’t turn off then and there in case you need to finish one last swipe, but it does turn off after 3 minutes to make sure you are not overdoing it. The cleansers don’t really foam at all while this was used, but after rinsing off, the skin feels clean and smooth so it does work.

20151031_162956

The nubbly side for cleansing consist of large silicone nubs at tip to work around the nose, and smaller silicone nubs for more gentle action. The size and proportion of the different nubs are different depend on if you got the Foreo Luna for oily/combination, normal/sensitive (this one I got), or ultra sensitive. I do not find this abrasive at all. In fact, the silicone nubs remind me of the little cleansing pore pads that comes with L’Oreal 360 cleanser or the cheap $5 ones that Sephora sells.  Even then, I feel like my Foreo Luna for normal/sensitive is gentler than those pads (but cleans more thoroughly due to vibration).

After cleansing, you press to pause while rinsing, then press again to use the antiaging mode on the other side to help serum sink in. The antiaging size consist of silicone bump line/rings instead of nubs. I have not used it with most serum since they sink in pretty fast and easy without any help, but I like using it to help massage in leftover serum after using sheet mask and I do think it helps the serum to sink in faster. As a skincare addict who enjoys facial massage, I like this feature, but it’s not a necessity and if you don’t care for it, Foreo Luna mini is cheaper and still fits your need.

20151031_162847

When I read reviews about Foreo Luna or Clarisonic, the consensus is that Foreo Luna is gentler, more convenient and that they are different, but Clarisonic have so many speed and brushheads and how different are they? the reviews never go into details. Here’s a more detailed comparison between the two from my experience:

Foreo Luna (full size) Clarisonic (Mia 2)
Claims
  • “T-sonic pulsation”
  • Cleansing
  • Anti-aging/massaging (full size, not mini)
  • “Sonic micro-massage action”
  • Cleansing
  • Exfoliating (all brush head except cashmere)
Material
  • Silicone bristles
  • Waterproof
  • Replaceable brushheads
  • Waterproof
Charging/Uses
  • Rechargeable
  • Fully charged in ~1hr
  • Up to 450 uses.
  • Rechargeable
  • Fully charged in ~18hr
  • Up to 24 minutes of use.
Weight
  • 100 g
  • ?? feels about twice as heavy as Foreo Luna
Speed/Timer
  • 1 minute of cleansing, remains on afterwards for 2 more minutes unless shut off.
  • 6 speed
  • 1 minute of cleansing, shuts off immediately/automatically after.
  • 2 speed
Cleansers to avoid
  • Clay-based
  • Silicone-based
  • Exfoliating cleansers
  • Cleansing oil
  • Exfoliating cleansers

Clarisonic Mia 2 gives me more options due to the different brushhead and speed while Foreo Luna is just cleansing and I don’t find there to be much difference in effect using different speed. If your argument about Foreo Luna over Clarisonic is because it’s gentler, Clarisonic with a cashmere brushhead does not exfoliate and feels just as gentle on my skin. However, Clarisonic shuts off immediately after 1 minute and if the charge runs out in the middle of cleansing it also shuts off immediately, which I find very annoying when there’s just one more little area I want to go over. Foreo Luna is more user friendly in that aspect but there’s also more restraints regarding the types of cleanser you can use.

If you want something that helps to cleanse thoroughly and exfoliate, Clarisonic is a better choice with its many options. If you want a cleansing device that you can use everyday and possibly unclog pores (I think Foreo Luna helped to massage/draw out the clogged gunk in my pores while Clarisonic just exfoliate off the top layer), Foreo Luna is a better choice. If I’m in the mood for something gentle or want to play with my peels/scrubs/exfoliators, I’ll use Foreo Luna. If I want a deeper cleansing and exfoliating in one, I’ll use Clarisonic. I don’t think one is better than the other, it really depends on your preference. So, which one do you prefer?

ps. If you are planning to get a Foreo Luna (or even Clarisonic) I would strongly recommend waiting until the holiday season. Sephora have great holiday/value sets and if it coincides with the 20% off sale in the fall, even better!

2 thoughts on “Foreo Luna Review, and Comparison to Clarisonic

  1. Thank you for this review! I know what you mean about the charger….the Clinique cleansing brush also only comes with the USB cord and no wall plug charger.

    1. How long does the charge on that last? Foreo Luna lasts forever on one charge so I’m not super peeved, but I hate how I’d be using clarisonic and have one cheek left and it suddenly stops, so I can’t use it until the next day.

Leave a Reply

