Skincare Journal, October. Farmacy Sleep Balm review

Cold weather has been taking a toll on our skin (ok fine, overindulgence in Halloween candy may or may not have also had an impact). Have you switched to your winter skincare regimen yet? If you are looking to add more products to your routine, here’s a post about the order of products to use. Or if you are satisfied with products you are using, how about incorporating facial massage into your night routine for extra glow/healthy circulation? If your skin is currently freaking out, being irritated, flaky, oily and dry and you are not sure what to do, here’s what helped when it happened to me last year. One of the brand that caught my attention recently was Farmacy. I have already reviewed the masks but the sleeping balm takes a bit longer for me to get a feel of, so here it is.

20151001_144208

It have a balm texture but melt into a lightweight oil onto the skin. You don’t need a lot at all, about half or a third of the amount of moisturizer you would usually use. It leaves the skin feeling moisturized and smooth but not stuffy. The scent is a sweet planty green scent, kind of like those green veggie/fruit juice you get at juicing place to drink. It goes away after the balm absorbs. It is an oil balm afterall, however lightweight, so it takes a while to absorb. It’s nice to do a little facial massage with, but not something you can hastily smear on your face right before bed and expect it to absorb. I would say it’s appropriate for all skin, if you have oily skin then use a tiny amount and warm up/rub between palm then press onto skin. If you have dry skin then apply like a moisturizer. It was ok on the eyelid so I think it’s ok for sensitive skin as well. I can’t attest to the anti-aging effect but it’s a great natural moisturizer for all skin types.

Skin condition: This month isn’t too bad. No excess oiliness or dryness. I didn’t have any breakouts either *fingers crossed* but there’s that one little bump of half dead acne that seems to refuse to come out and a bit of acne scar, so that’s what I will be focusing on this month with brightening serum, retinol or peels.

Products used: I finally finished my tube of Origins Charcoal and Perricone Chloroplasma mask this month. Since I was still using my Clarisonic with sensitive brush head, I didn’t use any other exfoliant. Aside from a few sheet masks, the rest of my regimen are:

  • Murad Essential-C Cleanser or Su:m37 Rose Stick Cleanser
  • Dior Gentle Toning Lotion with Velvet Peony Extract
  • Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair or Dior One Essential treatment
  • Belif True Cream Aqua Bomb
  • Peter Thomas Roth All Day Defense SPF30

I just switched out the sensitive brush head on the Clarisonic for cashmere, which feels more like a cleansing brush without much (if any) exfoliating action at all, so I think it’s safe to use scrubs or peels occasionally along with it. I’ve also been skipping eye cream and my eyes aren’t exactly happy, I will start using my Algenist eye balm from now on.

Other influences: I was doing so well in keeping an exercise routine but then I hurt my back *sigh*….. so I’ve been relying on a cleaner diet to keep my weight in check. The HUM nutrition supplements I got worked pretty well (Daily Cleanse for detox and Flatter Me for better digestion and less bloating). I have been trying to eat more raw vegetables and fruits, but it’s been hard trying to fight urges for a bowl of hot chowder or fresh fried chicken. I’ve been mostly good….except maybe for a large order of candy from Sugarfina.20151025_134234

One thought on “Skincare Journal, October. Farmacy Sleep Balm review

Leave a Reply

