Ingredient Highlight: Ceramide, sheet mask and Dr. Jart liquid

As the weather gets colder, our skin gets drier and I start to look for more hydrating and nourishing ingredients in my skincare. Ingredients such as shea butter, hyaluronic acid,  and ceramide are the most common and effective hydrating ingredients. The word ceramide always makes me think of ceramic, which is a bit different. Ceramide is one of the major component of the epidermis layer of the skin. It forms a protective layer that retains moisture as well as prevents chemicals, bacteria and bad stuff from being absorbed into our body.

dr-jart-ceramidin-liquid-3

Skin Type: dry, aging and irritated/sensitive skin.

Purpose: In addition to nourish dry skin and prevent aging, it also helps with eczema and psoriasis.

That’s why it’s prominent in many products that targets dry, irritated skin such as CeraVe, Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin and many sheet masks. My skin is very dry most of the time, so I’ve only tried the Nature Republic mask (free gift with my first purchase at kollectionk) and Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin liquid.

Nature Republic Help Ceramide Mask Sheet

NatureRepublicMask

My take: The sheet is thin but sturdy. It is soft and conforms to the face well but is a tad small. The length is fine, but the width is kind of narrow so I kind of  have to stretch it slightly to get to outer corner of my eyes. However, this also means the edge of the sheet/serum is not dripping into my hairline. If you find most face mask too big for you, try this. The essence is a white emulsion type serum with a mild sweet floral scent. My skin feel plump and moisturized after use, albeit it felt a bit thick and greasy and took a while to sink in.

Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Liquid

20150322_155038

My take: The liquid is more of a serum. It is translucent white in color with a slightly fruity scent. I used it last winter when my skin was dry, irritated and rough. This didn’t hurt the irritated/chapped skin at all, sinks into the skin well and keeps it hydrated. It doesn’t disappear completely tho, leaving a slightly tacky finish, which didn’t bother me since nobody can tell once you put a moisturizer on top.

I usually don’t have such problem and prefer something with a thinner consistency, so I usually look for hyaluronic acid in products rather than ceramide or shea butter. However, both products I tried here are great if you have dry, irritated and aging skin.

One thought on “Ingredient Highlight: Ceramide, sheet mask and Dr. Jart liquid

Leave a Reply

