Autumn Fire, a Gucci Eyeshadow Palette Review

All seasons have their own charms, but my favorite has to be Autumn. Spring makes me think of tender green buds and blooming flowers. Summer makes me think of frolicking in the water and all the juicy fruits. Winter makes me think of sparkling snow and holidays to catch up with family and shop the sales. But my favorite has to be Autumn with the cooler weather, beautiful foliage in all shades of yellow, orange and red. There’s also all the pumpkin desserts, moon cakes, pears and hot soups. Oh, and anticipation of all the holiday releases and gift sets.

20150922_122704

Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get a few LE makeup I wanted. I’m never that good at snatching LE makeup products. I missed Sephora’s epic reward perks, the Sephora+Disney mirrors this year and the Japan exclusive Shiseido Snow Beauty Powder II. But, my beauty BFF from Beauty By Jellybean sent me a nice birthday present, Gucci Eyeshadow Quad in Autumn Fire, so I did end up having a new makeup thing to play with.20150922_122840

I like high-end products, but I’m not a fan of them stamping the brand logo everywhere so I’ve always steered clear of Gucci. However, this eyeshadow quad is quite nice. It’s a palm size eyeshadow quad that comes in a black plastic casing with gold logo and border. There are two applicators in the quad, both have a sponge tip end and a mini brush end. They are too small for elaborate looks but they work on the go. I use the brush to sweep on the lighter color and sponge tip to pat on the darker color, then blend slightly with the brush.

20150922_122951

I usually go for warm, orangey eyeshadows. Pink and purple eyeshadow always make me feel like I got an eye infection or eye injury. However, the pink here have a slight gold shimmer and the purple have a more brown undertone, so a soft sweep of the color actually looks good on me. 20150922_123004

The shadows themselves are soft and smooth. The pigmentation would be medium, enough to show up but not so much like Urban Decay or Kat von D. When I wiped the swatches with a tissue, I was able to wipe off the color and glitter, so the quality is not that of Tom Ford but more similar to the Dior palette I have. I’m still a little hesitant with the purple, but I’ve been enjoying the other three shades a lot lately. It will have to tide me over until the Guerlain winter collection comes out, when I once again will try my LE luck and grab some pretties. So, what make up have you been enjoying lately for Autumn?

3 thoughts on “Autumn Fire, a Gucci Eyeshadow Palette Review

  1. Wow I didn’t know that Gucci made makeup! That palette is super pretty! I know what you mean about limited edition products. I’ve been stalking Sephora’s site for the Disney mirrors for weeks (!!!) and was finally able to get my hands on the one I wanted (Snow White) and I’m soooo happy! It is pricey for a compact mirror, but its a collectible item that will last for years if taken care of properly, and it has a gorgeous picture of my favorite princess 😀 You can still get your hands on some of the mirrors, 4 out of 6 of the mirrors are available right now on Sephora (Aurora, Cinderella, Snow White, Frozen) and I’m sure the other 2 will be back in stock soon (Ariel and Belle).

Leave a Reply

