Speed Review, September Edition. Hello Autumn~~

The weather have definitely gotten cooler. It’s time to start wearing pants instead of dresses, and start taking care of what you eat so you won’t get sick. It is also a good time to start switching to your colder weather skincare and makeup. I’ve been reorganizing/purging my makeup before the holiday collections come out and found this pretty pretty Tarte palette that definitely deserves to be used more often.
20150811_161720 20150811_161635

It is Tarte CC be MATTEnificent Amazonian Clay Palette. The shadows are buttery soft and wears/swatches well. They are all matte, which is rare for eyeshadow palettes. Even if you are not into completely matte look, this makes a great base to tone down the eyeshadows that are too shimmery. It is already discontinued but I figured I’d swatch it and take pictures for the Makeup Swatch Gallery anyways. If this palette is totally up your alley, Tarte does have a new palette that looks quite similar. In general I like Tarte blushes and Maracuja oil more than the other products.

But anyways! I am on a strict skincare no-buy unless I cleared out some of my skincare, so I think I did pretty  good this month. FINALLY finished some of the products that were so old they are discontinued. A little embarassing but it feels good to finally get rid of them. I did keep the frosted glass container and are already reusing them.

20150810_123416

Caudalie Vinosource Quenching Sorbet-crème – it is a lightweight fluffy cream with a green scent. It easily absorbs into the skin, leaving a smooth and matte finish. I would recommend it for oily/combination skin or to use under makeup. However, it seems to have been renamed to Vinosource Moisturizing Sorbet, guess I should have used/reviewed it earlier.

Clinique 7 Day Scrub Cream – this was my stable, my go-to scrub, for almost 6 years? I first got it when a Clinique sales rep persuaded me to enter the raffle to get one. Well, the raffle was held every 15 minutes and there were only like 4 people each time including me. After not getting it for the 3rd time, the rep felt guilty/responsible and just gave me one after other people left. It is a thick creamy scrub with round beads. It’s got great scrubbing power but won’t damage the skin, an excellent basic physical scrub. However, it’s got microbeads so unfortunately this is my last tube. Unless they reformulate, I will be going with Dr. Brandt Microdermabrasion or Tatcha Rice Powder for my physical exfoliants.

CO Bigelow Vitamin Boost Toner – it’s a spray toner with a significant fruity scent. It is alcohol free. It is moisturizing and refreshing, but leaves a bit of residue. I like my toner to feel like I have nothing on after it sinks in, but if you have dry combination skin then you might enjoy this. It does have good ingredients, but I most often spray it to refresh myself before/after exercise rather than as a toner. It also seems to be discontinued and it’s not my favorite anyways, so I would recommend these if you are looking for a facial spray, or these if you are looking for a good toner.

Delon Premium Cotton Rounds – I got a pack of 8 rows at Costco and really enjoy them. Most drugstore cottons are rough and falls apart leaving pieces on your face. This is soft but sturdy and won’t come apart unless you are seriously rubbing very hard. This has a smooth side and an exfoliating side. The smooth side feels very soft and the exfoliating side is not scratchy/harsh at all. I love using it to apply toner and take off makeup. I use the smooth side when working around the eye area and the exfoliating/patterned side on my face and neck, especially after I used a clay/mud mask to make sure I get the residue off. If you feel that Shiseido cotton are a bit too soft/torn apart after use, then give this a try.

Fresh Lotus Youth Preserve Face Cream – HEAVENLY scent! The moment I opened a jar in Sephora, I know I need to get myself a full size of it. It’s a nice lightweight cream that feels so comforting on the skin and sinks in well. The scent is a light, clean floral with a hint of cucumber. I usually gets tired of moisturizers after finishing .5oz and have to switch, but I finished all 1oz of it in one go. If you are unsure, Sephora sells it in .5oz size so it won’t be a huge commitment. It does moisturize well and has great ingredients, I even use it as eye cream on the eyelid and it works fine. Very much recommend for combination skin. If you’ve got dry skin and want to use this, you might want to use a hydrating toner/serum underneath.

Murad Pore & Line Minimizing Hydrator – it’s a lightweight lotion with a chemical scent, similar to Philosophy Hope in a Jar. It absorbs well, leaving the skin feeling smooth. In my experience, most pore minimizing products tend to be a little drying or feel a little tingling/itchy and most anti-aging product tend to be a bit too rich for my skin. This manage to hydrate without making my skin feel greasy. I can’t speak for the line minimizing aspect, but I would recommend it for oily or combination skin that is looking for something that reduces pores and lines.

Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Cream SPF50+ – it is for face and claims to be water resistant (80 minutes), but I like using it on the body much better. It feels like a normal cream moisturizer when I rub it on, but no matter how much I rub it leaves a white cast on the face. While it’s a little thick, it doesn’t feel super stuffy. It offers great protection and feels just like a normal cream moisturizer on the face, but unless you don’t mind looking like you’ve got a veil of white powder on your face, you need a little bronzer or foundation/TM to bring the color back. Basically if you wear makeup this shouldn’t be a problem, but if you want a lightweight high SPF, try Clarins or Supergoop instead.

Skin Food Peach Sake Pore Serum – I admit I initially bought it because I love peaches. The lotiony serum have a lovely fruity peachy scent. It sinks in well leaving no residue. The skin feels smooth and looks a bit matte after application. The effect on pores is minimal but I also like the fact it didn’t dry my skin out or make it feel itchy. The bottle is frosted glass with a plastic pump and is reusable. It also have an expiration date clearly printed on the back. The only caveat is after not using it for awhile, the serum in the pump opening dries up. So if you didn’t use it for a few weeks, do a few pumps to get out the dried out clump then apply the good serum.

Super by Dr. Perricone Coconut Quench – it has a light scent of coconut water and feels just like water on the skin. I love the fact the spray bottle is frosted glass (reusable) and it produces a very fine mist instead of squirt/spray. It’s a great refresher for oily/combo skin. It may work as a toner but I’ve mostly just use it to refresh myself throughout the day.

Tarte Double Detox AmazonianClay Exfoliating Facial Mask – it is a thick white clay mask with medium amount of exfoliation granules. The mask has a very mild fresh scent and cooling/tingling sensation on the skin. As it dries, I can feel my face tighten up. It rinses off fine and is not drying. It is not as drying as GlamGlow Youthmud and if the granules are a bit smaller I would’ve chose this. It is good for oily/combination skin. If we are talking exfoliating clay mask, I prefer Origins Original Skin Retexturizing Mask with Rose Clay, which have smaller exfoliating beads and is a bit more hydrating.

So, what products were you glad to FINALLY finish and what are you looking forward to try?

One thought on “Speed Review, September Edition. Hello Autumn~~

Leave a Reply

