Test Test 123: Estee Lauder, Lancome and Guerlain eye makeup remover

Eye makeup removers….. is not something I usually use. I may dust some powder on my face and leave my eyes naked, but I seldom put on eye makeup without a hint of face makeup. That’s why I usually use my face makeup remover for eyes and the cleansing water/oil/balm works fine. However, maybe the face ones are too harsh for you or you want something strictly for eyes (especially if you tightline). I acquired them through gift with purchase during holiday season and they are from good brands, so might as well try them out.

20150517_101948

The three I’m reviewing are Estee Lauder Gentle Eye Makeup Remover, Lancome Bi-facil Eye Makeup Remover and Guerlain Secret Du Purete Biphase Eye & Lip Makeup Remover. Honestly, from skimming online it seems the Lancome and MUFE Sens’eye are the two most popular eye makeup remover. However, the MUFE Sens’eye makeup remover seems to have been reformulated at some point last year or so and I’m not sure if the one I have is the old or new one, so I did not put it in this batch of testing.

Since this is about eye makeup remover, I test the makeup removing power on the most longlasting eye products I have: Maybelline Color Tattoo, Marc Jacob Highliner and Stila liquid eyeliner. Most makeup removers can take off powder products with no problem so I focused on cream, waxy crayon and liquid liner.

  1. Estee Lauder Gentle Eye Makeup Remover – it feels like cleansing water, but with a bit of slip like…very very diluted soapy water? Eitherway, it is gentle on the eyes and leaves no residue, so you can apply makeup afterward if needed.
  2. Lancome Bi-facil Eye Makeup Remover – it’s a mix of oil and watery liquid so make sure to shake well before using. It feels a tad greasy.
  3. Guerlain Secret Du Purete Biphase Eye & Lip Makeup Remover – it’s a mix of oil and watery liquid so make sure to shake well before using. It feels a tad greasy.

20150517_110151

After 5 slow wipes with the makeup remover, there seems to be a difference between the three products. Estee Lauder was able to remove the liquid liner almost instantly, takes awhile to work on cream and had difficulty removing Marc Jacob highliner. Lancome Bi-facil dissolved/removed all three different products at a slightly faster rate than Guerlain. Out of the three eye makeup removers tested, Lancome Bi-facil removes all makeup the fastest (Guerlain is not bad, but it seems to be oos in a lot of place online so…). All three of them are safe for sensitive eyes, but make sure you check the ingredients list just in case.

Sometimes after removing eye makeup, I wipe them over my face/lips if I’m just wearing a dust of powder. However, I much prefer to use one makeup remover for face and eyes so I would go for Bioderma or KGD cleansing water instead of these, but Lancome Bi-facil is as good a product as they say. So that’s my little venture into eye makeup remover, what is your favorite eye makeup remover?

2 thoughts on “Test Test 123: Estee Lauder, Lancome and Guerlain eye makeup remover

  1. I’m pretty sure that you were the one that introduced me to cleansing waters. I still have not tried the KGD one that you recommended, but I have to tell you about my favorite one. It is Simple Cleansing Micellar Water. It is sooo good, takes off all my face makeup (I dont use it on eyes because I dont like rubbing them with cotton pads), it doesnt irritate my skin, and its less than 10 bucks at drugstores. I’m on my third bottle and I’m obsessed. This cleansing water and Clinique take the day off cleansing balm are my two most beloved makeup removers. Lately I’ve been removing my makeup with those big oval dual sided cotton pads by target brand, then using foam cleanser (andalou naturals 1000 roses), then shiseido facial cotton and thayers toner in rosepetal, rosebud lipbalm brambleberry rose, eqyptian magic skin cream, and thebalm timebalm cranberry invigorating eye cream (I’ve *finally* gotten back into the habit of using eye cream).

    1. Yay eye cream! Yeah, probably about the cleansing water, lol, since I’ve been raving about it for years. I have tried Simple cleansing wipes, but didn’t get around to trying the simple cleansing water. It is on my list of stuff to try, but I want to finish some of my cleansing oils first.

Leave a Reply

