Sheet Masks/Ingredient Highlight: Seaweed and Kelp… on your face?

I love love love seaweed and kelp, in soups that is. Make yourself some egg drop soup with chicken broth, shredded chicken, seaweed or sliced kelp. Finish off with some cilantro (and generous amount of vinegar and siracha if you are going for hot and sour soup, or miso and soy sauce) and it’s the perfect soup to warm yourself up in the winter. But seaweed and kelp on the skin? It is not as foreign as it sounds. The Body Shop have a seaweed line, and the star ingredient of the popular skincare line Algenist is plankton and algae.

20150613_194806

Seaweed, kelp and other marine algae contain a large amount of fiber, minerals and vitamins. They are also detoxifying and anti-inflammatory, so they are great to help purify the skin and soothe acne. They are also nourishing and supposedly help stimulate hair growth, but I have not tried any hair products containing it (that I’m aware of).

Skin Type: Any skin type, especially acne-prone or sensitive.

Purpose: Purifying, anti-inflammatory and hydrating when applied topically. Very nutritious when consumed. Helps to nourish and stimulate hair growth (but I haven’t researched into any hair products containing it).

TonyMoly I’m Real Seaweed Mask, Skin Purifying

20150613_194900

My take: With the size of the package, I was surprised at how small the mask is. Well it was folded up to be small but is normal size for a sheet mask. The sheet is thin, smooth and sturdy. The essence is liquidy and have a very perfumed floral scent. When I took the mask off, my skin feels calm and refreshed. There’s enough leftover liquid to go over the skin 2-3 times and even after I put everything on, it didn’t feel stuffy or greasy. However, something in the ingredients list bothers me — chlorphenesin. It is a preservative, not as bad as paraben but potentially irritating depending on the amount, and it was listed higher than the star ingredient (8th while seaweed is at 11th). It’s not a bad mask, and I would say give it a try if the preservative and fragrance doesn’t bother you.

THEFACESHOP Real Nature Mask, Kelp

20150613_194832

My take: Strong scent of perfume! When I open the packet there was a strong scent of floral and alcohol, I’m pretty sure kelp does not smell like that. I’m not opposed to have a little bit of alcohol in skincare, but if I can smell it and feel it, then it’s too much. The essence is more of a liquidy/light serum. Sheet is thin and sturdy and just a tad long. It did have a tingling cooling sensation on the skin, but I think it’s from the alcohol. The scent is a bit strong but the tingling/cooling sensation didn’t last long and my skin feel calm and hydrated after taking it off. My face did feel a little greasy so I saved the leftover essence for next day instead. I would not recommend this for sensitive skin due to the fragrance and alcohol.

Well, in terms of the result, I like TonyMoly better even though both masks have aspects that I don’t like. Honey also have anti-inflammatory properties so I am more likely to purchase that than this. There are other seaweed/kelp products I haven’t tried, but I think I really do like eating them better than using them as skincare.

7 thoughts on “Sheet Masks/Ingredient Highlight: Seaweed and Kelp… on your face?

  1. Great review 🙂 I like seaweed extract as skincare ingredient since it’s great moisturizing and skin protection agent. I want to avoid strong scent, so I guess tony moly is better for me! Thanks for sharing 🙂

      1. Lol I just reviewed about Algenist, that’s my favorite brand! Also many brands use seaweed extract/oil almost for base ingredient, I can’t remember the name of products but La Mer and Ren, and Bodyshop has products using seaweed 🙂 You might be using without knowing it! :p

Leave a Reply

