Fancy Potted Lip Balms: Josie Maran, By Terry and Nuxe reviews

To be honest, I’m not a big fan of potted lip balms. I always worry about sanitary issue so they are reduced to my nightstand, and I only use them after I do my skincare so my hands are clean. But those little pots are so cute! And what if THE most amazing lip balm ever comes in a pot? am I going to let the container prevent me from obtaining the world’s most beautiful lips? nuh uh!

ByTerryJMNuxeLipbalm

See? Aren’t they pretty? All pink and yellow and white and summery? I already have my set of must-have lip balms, but some of these got amazing reviews online and from friends, so let’s check out how awesome they are….ByTerryJMNuxeLipbalm2

Josie Maran Argan Lip Treatment – I’ll be honest, I brought it for the cute little pot. It has a sweet fruity scent and the jar is made of plastic. The balm is thin with a slightly greasy/oily feel, which is both good and bad. The good is that it sinks into the lips easily, but the bad is that it’s not that hydrating. If you just need a little bit of hydration and hate putting thick layer of stuff on the lips then go for it. Otherwise there are better products in both lower and higher price range. I use it in the summer, but it’s not enough for me in the winter or to repurchase.

Ingredients: Squalane, Dilinoleic Acid/ propanediol Copolymer, Oleyl Alcohol, Octododecyl Lanolate, Sucrose Polystearate, Dipentaerythrityl Hexahydroxystearate/ Hexastearate/ Hexarosinate, Microcrystalline Wax, Paraffin, Cholesteryl Hydroxystearate, Organic Argania Spinosa Oil, Ricinus Communis Seed Oil, Titanium Dioxide, Red 7, Flavor.

By Terry Baume de Rose – Many people swears it is the best thing ever and worthy of the $60 price tag, so I can’t resist getting one when I saw a promo with it. I’m not sure if the mini is glass or just really good quality plastic, but I believe the full size is in a glass container. It has a nice rose scent. When I compare it to my Rose Salve, this smells more like real rose. This balm feels thicker than rose salve, but softens when you rub it on your lips. It does leave a residue instead of sinking in completely when I applied overnight. However! It is definitely luxurious, hydrating and nourishing enough for very dry lips. The only other product that I can confidently say is as moisturizing as this is my favorite Jack Black SPF25 (at $7.50). By Terry uses more luxurious ingredients with more benefits and do not have SPF, so if you have ridiculously dry lips and want THE most moisturizing lip balm without SPF then give this a try. But my lips aren’t THAT dry and for $50+ difference, I think I’ll stick with my slightly more basic Jack Black lip balms.

Ingredients: Ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, synthetic wax, hydroxystrearic/linolenic/oleic polyglycerides, diisostearyl malate, tridecyl trimellitate, methyl hydrogenated rosinate, hydrogenated polyisobutene, polyethylene, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, butyl methoxydibenzoylmethane, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, stearalkonium hectorite, c20-40 acid, corylus avellana (hazel) seed oil, parfum / fragrance, geraniol, citronellol, benzyl benzoate, eugenol, citral, tocopherol, ci 77891 / titanium dioxide, caprylic/capric triglyceride, ethylhexyl palmitate, propylene carbonate, rosa centifolia flower (wax) cera, rosa damascena flower (wax) cera, trihydroxypalmitamidohydroxypropyl myristyl ether, alumina, aluminum stearate, polyhydroxystearic acid, mica, citric acid, silica dimethyl silylate, bht, butylene glycol, caprylyl glycol, ci 75470 / carmine, phenoxyethanol, sodium hyaluronate, hexylene glycol.

Nuxe Reve de Miel Lip Balm – This is another lip balm I heard a lot of good reviews about, but it’s not really my type. It is dark yellow with a slightly grainy texture, probably from the shea butter. It is thick and it does help to soften the lips I suppose but…. somehow it doesn’t really sink into the lips for me, so it’s not as hydrating as I expected. It have a matte finish and a citrus scent. If you want a lip balm with matte finish then give this a try. If you have super dry lips, well, I should say try Jack Black or By Terry first.

Ingredients: Cera alba/beeswax, olus oil/vegetable oil, lecithin, behenoxy dimethicone, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond) oil, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter) extract, mel /honey, butyrospermum parkii (shea butter), dimethicone, ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate, citrus grandis (grapefruit) peel oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride, hydrogenated vegetable oil, glycine soja (soybean) oil, rosa moschata seed oil, tocopheryl acetate, tocopherol, citrus medica limonum (lemon) peel oil, candelilla cera/euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax, allantoin, calendula officinalis flower extract, bht, citric acid, citral, limonene, linalool [n0802/c]

ByTerryJMNuxeLipbalm0

So that’s my three little pots. I enjoy By Terry and am saving it for the winter, I will grab it if I see it in a promo or GWP again. As for the other two, I won’t be buying them again. Have you tried them? Did you like them? What are your favorite lip balms?

5 thoughts on “Fancy Potted Lip Balms: Josie Maran, By Terry and Nuxe reviews

  1. I can’t imagine spending $60 on lip balm! I do want to try the Reve de Miel sometime though. My favorite lip balm is probably the Fresh Rose balm. It’s super moisturizing and gives your lips a tiny tint of color!

    1. Yeah, I wouldn’t recommend By Terry unless you either got the dough, or have super dry skin and nothing cheaper works. I love Fresh lip balms! Altho the rose one is a bit too soft for my taste, but it is the most moisturizing and foolproof lip tint ever. =D

  2. I’ve never tried the Nuxe. The Josie Maran is junk. My lip split when I used it, because it did not hydrate at all. Love, love, love By Terry. Both the full size and the sample sizes come in glass jars.

Leave a Reply

