Speed Review, May Edition. DDG Medi-spa Peel

A long long long time ago in a galaxy far far away on BeautyTalk, I received a full size of Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta Medi-Spa peel when it first came out for hanging out on the skincare board way too much. I think that was actually my first gratis/freebie ever so the review was on my back-burner since FOREVER. That was last August, and because I operate at turtle speed, I didn’t open it until this year and only finished most of it (enough to write a review) now. It was provided to me as a BeautyTalk member, not as a blogger/author of ChicDabbling, so I posted pictures and a thorough review on BeautyTalk instead of here. In short, it was ok. It has great ingredients and did nice things, but not quite up to par for the price. I prefer frequent gentle exfoliation instead of something intense once a week. While it didn’t burn my skin, it was still intense enough that I can’t use some of the other serums I like due to the active ingredients being overwhelming.

20141231_122023

In other news, I’ve been trying to find a good summer moisturizer with high SPF that doesn’t feel greasy but hydrates well. It’s been tough so in the mean time, I’ve been trying out day creams under my thinner/summer SPFs. I’ve also been trying to find a nice primer to help tone down the redness in my face. According to color theory, I should use green primers. However, I feel like they make my skin look a little grey/ashy, so I’m going to try yellow primers next since I have yellow undertone.

MayEmpties

Dr. Hauschka Moisturizing Day Cream – It is an off-white, almost lotion-y cream. It have a … either herbal or medicinal scent that I’m not a fan of. Apricot oil is pretty high up on the ingredients list, which is probably why it feels so thin/lotion-y but still hydrating. I’m not a fan of this cream for several reasons. In my opinion a day moisturizer should either contain SPF or be light enough or easily absorbed so it can be layered with SPF on top. This does not contain SPF, and because of the oil, it does take a while to sink into the skin, so it doesn’t play as well with SPF and makeup as I would like. If you have dry skin this would be nice, otherwise if you are looking for a non-SPF day cream, I would recommend REN Hydra-Calm instead, which have better ingredients and sinks in faster, so it is easier to layer.

Kate Somerville Daily Deflector Moisturizer SPF20 – It is a white cream with a mild fruity scent. It is lightweight, spreads well and doesn’t leave a white cast on the skin. It hydrates but feels a little greasy on the face and gives you a dewy finish. If you don’t want a dewy/glowy finish or have oily skin, then this is not for you. If you do like a dewy or illuminating look and have normal/combination skin then give this a try.

Make Up For Ever Step 1 Skin Equalizer, Redness Correcting Primer – It has a rather liquidy and thin consistency so it feels a bit more like moisturizer going on than primer. It have a mild fresh/green scent and feels weightless on the skin. It have a satin finish, not drying but it’s not that moisturizing either. It does help to conceal redness better than Smashbox for me, I think it’s because the white tint in it covers the redness and brightens a bit in addition to concealing what peeks through with the green (while Smashbox is sheer and just layers a green tint over the red). This also means if you apply it over area where there’s no redness whatsoever, you might find it a little green. While it does help to makeup stay, it doesn’t feel as smoothing as other primers. It’s appropriate for all skin types, but if you want something greener or find it too whitening/brightening, then try MUFE primer (or if you are yellow toned like me then go for a yellow primer).

Nude Skincare Detox Brightening Fizzy Powder Wash – It is a white powder with small/med size granules. It has a mild fruity scent that goes away as you are washing. You only need to use a little bit of the powder each time. It doesn’t fizz but foams up like a cleanser when water is added. The granules feel a bit abrasive, so don’t use too much powder and apply with a gentle hand. When I was rinsing it off it did feel a bit slimy at first, but the skin starts to feel more squeaky clean as I kept rinsing. The granules/powder reminds me of Boscia Tsubaki, PTR Camu Camu and Tatcha deep powder. However, I did notice a slight temporary brightening after rinsing it off, unlike the other ones mentioned. It is nice but also dries my skin out a bit, so I would not recommend it for sensitive or dry skin. Boscia Tsubaki is a tad more moisturizing I believe, or at least you can add facial oil to it, and Tatcha Deep have smaller granules. If you have dry or sensitive skin, look for Tatcha classic, sensitive, gentle or AmorePacific enzyme powder.

Omorovicza Queen of Hungary Mist – It is a fine mist with a floral perfumed scent, but since there is no fragrance listed in the ingredients, it must be due to the floral and plant extracts. When used as a toner, I sprayed it on generously then wiped with a cotton pad. It did hydrate but did not leave the skin as soft and smooth as my favorite Dior toner. Or if you are comparing it with a spray toner, it is similar to Fresh Rose or Mario Badescu Aloe and Rosewater spray. I did notice this keeps my skin a bit more hydrated than those two without leaving residue. As a toner, I think Dior is better and cheaper. As a spray to refresh and add hydration, I would recommend it for combination to dry skin. If you just want to set makeup or your skin is not that dry, then it’s probably not worth the price or you won’t get that much out of it and the Fresh or Mario Badescu spray will work for way cheaper. If you need a super hydrating spray like The Body Shop’s Vitamin E Face Mist but didn’t like the residue or all the parabens in the ingredients, then give this a try.

Origin Skin Renewal Serum – It is a light pink serum with a thicker, more gel cream type consistency like moisturizer when rubbed on. It doesn’t spread easily since it sinks in so fast, but it leaves no residue, so I think it’s appropriate for all skin types. There is a mild fruity orangey scent like most Origins skincare products. It is suppose to help with dullness of the skin and pores. It probably does make a subtle difference based on the ingredients mentioned, but I can’t find the full ingredients list online so I can’t say much more than that. I tried it with 3 different moisturizers and it makes all of them flakes. Maybe it’s just me, but I won’t be trying this again.

REN Hydra-calm Global Protection Day Cream – It is a lightweight off-white cream with a mild floral scent. It spreads and sinks in well, leaving the skin feeling soft and smooth. It didn’t reduce the redness in my skin, but when my skin is irritated, this makes the skin feel calm and hydrated. Because it is pretty light and sinks in well, it should work for all skin types except oily. If you want something extra under your SPF to hydrate and calm the skin, then give this a try. NOTE: it has been renamed as REN Evercalm Global Protection Day Cream but everything else seems to be the same.

SK-II Eye Mask – The mask comes in a little plastic tray with a plastic sheet on top of the fabric mask. The sheets are a little stiff like the face treatment masks but the serum have a bit of liquidy gel texture and it sticks well to the undereye area. There is no scent and no sensation when it’s on the skin. It did leave my undereye area more hydrated and looking less tired, but that’s all I can tell from one mask. It is appropriate for all skin types.

Skyn Iceland Forehead Mask – It’s a cloth/gel type of mask, like Sephora eye mask, with plastic sheet on the gel side to keep it from sticking or drying out. It’s not liquidy, just soft fuzzy cloth on oneside and a cool/damp gel on the other side with no scent. I do like the fact it is big enough to cover the whole forehead, from the hairline to between the eyebrows and almost to the temples. It was used and shrunk a bit in the image above. I don’t know about wrinkles and I feel like the cooling gel is not as moisturizing as the more damp/wet sheet masks, but it did feel nice. I wouldn’t buy it for the price, but if it comes as GWP then I would enjoy using it.

Smashbox Photo Finish Color Correcting Foundation Primer – It has a medium weight primer consistency and is scentless just like the original clear version. It primes your skin for makeup just as well as original, but the redness correcting is minimal. I can’t really tell it toned down my redness or not, eventho at end of the day when I take off the makeup, I can see the greenness on the cotton pad. If you like the original Smashbox primer and the redness you want to correct is minimal, this is worth a try. The other green primer I tried is the MUFE Skin Equalizer, which is whiter and instead of just green and I think that helped since I’m light skintoned. If you have yellow undertone and find green primer makes your skin look a little grey, then try a yellow primer instead.

So that’s what I tried this month. What fun stuff did you try? =)

2 thoughts on “Speed Review, May Edition. DDG Medi-spa Peel

Leave a Reply

