Speed Review, April Edition

Spring is finally here! Aside from the random week of freezing weather/ice pellets, it’s mostly getting warmer. Which is great and it’s a good thing I manage to finish some of my heavier products this month. It is time to switch to a lighter skincare routine and either finish or put away the rich and heavy stuff.

AprEmpty

I also went to a Sephora VIB Rouge event this month. Love Note it is called, last year it was called Chic Week I believe. VIB Rouge and VIB get a day earlier to shop than BI (Beauty Insiders) and everyone gets 15% off. It’s a great time to stock up on things you are running low, or get something lighter or fresher in preparation for the summer. Or that’s what I would’ve done if I didn’t just do a Korean skincare haul and isn’t saving up for The Makeup Show at NYC. I’ve never been to any makeup events, but I’ve been wanting to check out some Hakuhodo brushes so, I hope it is as exciting as I’ve read about.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream – it is a medium weight white cream with no scent. Since it’s suppose to be for super dry skin I was afraid it is going to be greasy and heavy and stuffy and rich, but it actually isn’t. It is creamy but spreads easily and sinks in easily. The ingredients are very very basic, no active/fancy ingredients, but all good for your skin without too much extra fluff. I prefer something with more oomph for my face, but this would be good to have on hand for those especially dry days or when your skin is sensitive or chapped and you want something hydrating but basic. If you didn’t manage to use it up on your face before the expiration date, no guilt on using it on the body since it came with a nice body cream price.

Hourglass No. 28 Primer Serum – while they say it can be used as a serum, it is basically liquid silicone with a ton of plant extracts. It’s great as a protective layer and make skin feel smooth, but it won’t allow products afterward to sink into the skin as effectively. As a hydrating primer, it is definitely my favorite. In the winter when my skin is angry and flaky and irritated and there’s 25mph wind outside, using this on my face prevent chapped cheeks and help nourish my skin during the day. In addition to the skincare benefit from the 28 vitamins and minerals it contains, it also performs very well as a primer. I highly recommend it if you want a nice primer for dry skin, or a dewy primer with lots of skin benefits.

Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil – it is scentless and one of the thicker facial oils I’ve tried. It is definitely lighter than coconut and olive oil, but it is a bit thicker than Tarte Maracuja and Boscia Tsubaki. It’s nice if you have dry skin, but I would recommend a lighter oil if you are prone to clogged pores. I do like the fact that I can use it on dry nails/cuticles as well as skin. If you find it tug or difficult to spread sparingly, I recommend putting 2-4 drops on the palm of your hand, rub both hands together then press onto the skin.

L’occitane Angelica Protective Lotion SPF 15 – it’s a lightweight cream lotion with the same mild fresh green scent as the rest of the Angelica line. Because it is so thin I was afraid it won’t be hydrating enough for me, but even when my combination skin is feeling dry this did a good job of keeping it hydrated throughout the day. You can’t smell the sunscreen or see any white cast, it sinks into the skin nicely leaving a smooth finish. I would recommend it for normal/combination skin, or oily skin in the winter.

L’occitane Divine Eyes – it is described as a “creamy gel” on L’occitane website, but it is quite a liquidy gel and feels almost like a serum. There is a mild floral herbal scent. It spreads easily and sinks nicely into the skin around the eye, and is gentle enough to be used on the eyelid. You will have to look elsewhere for reviews of its anti-aging benefits, but it feels nice and hydrates well. If you have very dry skin around the eyes, however, I would recommend something richer. If you feel that most eye cream are too thick and don’t sink in well, this is worth a try. I find L’occitane Boutique staffs to be pretty friendly in general and willing to give a sample or two if you are interested, even if you don’t buy.

L’occitane Jasmin & Bergamote Body Milk – I usually don’t review body products but I love the scent of this! Jasmin and Bergamote are two of my favorite notes in fragrance. I like fresh and clean fragrances that are not fruity, sweet, too floral or soapy and this fits the bill. Jasmin brings in the freshness and femininity while Bergamote keeps it grounded, clean and elegant. As body milk, it’s got lots of nice ingredients such as shea butter and grapeseed oil. It is liquidy and lightweight, so I would only recommend this for normal skin. If you have dry skin you probably need something heavier, but this body milk have great ingredients and a lovely simple scent.

Lancome Bienfait Multi-Vital SPF 30 – it is a white medium thick cream that spreads nicely on the skin. I have combination skin and this hydrates and protects well in the winter for me. However, it does have a strong perfume fragrance. Most of the time it doesn’t bother me but when my cheeks are irritated and windchapped from the weather, it doesn’t feel so good on the cheeks. If you don’t have sensitive skin and is not sensitive to fragrance, then this is a nice cream for dry skin with a nice high SPF.

Murad Acne & Wrinkle Reducer – it is a translucent serum with no scent. Salicylic acid tend to make my skin dry and irritated without actually doing anything to my blemish. This didn’t irritate at all, probably due to help from the other ingredients and low concentration of the salicylic acid. However, it didn’t do anything to my acne either, but salicylic acid never does anything for me so you may have better results. It didn’t dry my skin out and while it was not weightless and liquidy, it’s not stuffy either, so the consistency/texture is appropriate for all skin types I think. As for its effect on wrinkle and acne, I can’t really speak about that.

Peter Thomas Roth Rose Stem Cell Bio-repair Cleansing Gel – it have a nice rose fragrance just like the rose mask. You only need a little bit to get a nice lather and it leaves your skin clean and refreshed. It is a thick gel just like their Anti-Aging Cleansing Gel but this is not as drying. It’s not really hydrating either so I would recommend it for all skin types except dry skin. If you have very oily skin then the Anti-aging cleansing gel (orange one) would be a better choice tho.

Sephora Age Defy Moisture Cream SPF15 – it is a white medium weight cream with a mild fresh floral fragrance. It feels nice and creamy, sinks into the skin pretty well, leaving a velvety smooth finish. The ingredients are pretty basic, so I wouldn’t count on the anti-aging aspect much. Also, the description on Sephora said it protect against UVB rays, no mention of whether it protect against UVA rays, which to me kind of renders the SPF pointless. A lot of negative review mention it flaked on them. The moisturizer did not flake on me, but I remember trying a sample of….. either the serum or another cream from the same line and that did ball up and flaked on my skin. It is appropriate for normal/dry skin but if you are interested, do get a sample to make sure it works for your skin first.

So, what fun skincare did you try this month?

Leave a Reply

