Skincare Journal, April: Klairs Sheet Masks

Eventho I now have a blog, I still like to go back to BeautyTalk ever so often since I get lonely talking to myself. I end up getting in a conversation with Megan, who just started her own online Korean beauty shop last month (https://essentiellebeauty.com). She kindly send me 3 masks in return for honest reviews and a shout out. Disclosure: This sheet mask is provided for review. Whether the product was provided for free or bought does not influence my opinion of the product. Anyways, I will review the other two later (with mentions to the masks being provided for review) since I want to talk more about the ingredients, who’s ready to learn about snails?!? =D This mask is from Klairs, which is an eco-friendly Korean brand. They don’t do animal testing, no alcohol, no parabens, and no artificial coloring.

KlairsMask

This mask seems to be just a basic no-frill hydrating mask–except for the fermented fruit juice. Why is fermented ingredients better than fresh ones? supposedly the ingredients (vitamins and anti-oxidants) are more concentrated and easily absorbed due to the enzyme and acid. You can read more details about fermented skincare ingredients here and here. But anyways, onto the actual mask!

My take: The mask is a thin but slightly puffy cotton sheet (100% organic) and pretty sturdy. It wasn’t difficult to peel it open and the sheet did not get damaged/torn in the process. The essence is more of a serum consistency with a bit of floral or fruit fragrance, but it’s not irritating at all. They claim one mask contains half bottle of Rich Moisturizing Essence. The sheet is normal size but the eye/nose/mask holes are larger than most, so there are some creases when you smooth the sheet onto the face. But this also means you won’t accidentally get serum in your eyes and you can totally talk or eat with this mask on no problem! After taking it off, the face feel hydrated. It doesn’t feel sticky or greasy unless you decided to take all the leftover serum and pile it onto your face, then it may take a few hours for the sticky greasy feeling to go away (or you can save it to use the next day).

It did make my skin feel very hydrated for the next few days but not oily. If you are looking for a moisturizing mask with great ingredients, this is it. The brand is eco-friendly and the mask is organic cotton. Unlike some masks that have filler ingredients like silicone and alcohol high up on the ingredients list, this doesn’t contain those and have hyaluronic acid as second ingredient. Hyaluronic acid is a great hydrator that also attracts moisture from the air into your skin, a popular ingredient for a lot of med/high end skincare. I would definitely recommend it for sensitive or dry skin. If you have combination skin, I would recommend saving the leftover serum for next day instead of rubbing them on after the mask to prevent the stuffy/sticky feeling. I have combination skin so I prefer a mask with a lighter serum, but the brand certainly piqued my interest and I like the ingredients I see. =)

Skin condition: Despite the bipolar weather, 30 degrees this week and 60 degrees next week, my skin have mostly stablelized to normal combination skin. There’s no dry flakes and I get a bit of oil around my nose. My pores look pretty nice thanks to the skincare products I tried this month but I did have a couple acne that refuse to go away.

Products used: For exfoliation I used DDG medi-spa peel weekly and Clinique 7 day scrubs 2-3 times a week. I also used honey sheet masks for hydration and Origins clay mask. For the daily regimen, I’ve been using:

  • Dior Instant Gentle Cleansing Oil as pre-cleanse/makeup remover.
  • Murad Essential C Cleanser
  • Lancome Tonique Douceur
  • Skin Food Peach Sake serum and other serum samples
  • Shiseido benefiance eye cream
  • Algenist Overnight cream and assortment of samples
  • Lancome Bienfait SPF30 and random sample packets during the day

I’m currently trying out some lighter creams, and I also need to use up that bottle of Shiseido Hydro-Nourishing softener before the weather gets too warm.

Other influences: I admit, the flip flopping weather and the rainy grey days had me craving soup. Salty and spicy soup. The kind that gives me pimples and is not good for skin. The kind that makes you bloated and makes you fat. I haven’t been able to find motivation for exercise and that is a problem. I know I just gotta get up and do it, but it is so much easier to think of a bazillion excuses for why not. Bad habit, sigh.

2 thoughts on “Skincare Journal, April: Klairs Sheet Masks

Leave a Reply

