Skincare Journal Mar: New Glamglow Youthcleanse

While I missed the chance to get a free sample of the new YouthCleanse Daily Exfoliating Cleanser during the brief sign up period on the GlamGlow website last month, I did manage to make a quick stop in a Sephora and get a sample to play with. I’ve already tried all their masks and cleansers so far (refer to skincare glossary for the list) with mostly favorably impressions, so here we go……

s1673854-main-hero-300

Description: A daily cleanser that transforms from mud into a foaming lather to gently exfoliate, cleanse, and renew skin to create a more youthful-looking, glowing complexion. It dissolves makeup and impurities while removing dead surface cells.  It is formulated with Brazilian superfruits acai, guarana, and acerola to provide potent antioxidants and flaxseed and quinoa, which are rich in omegas 3, 6, and 9 for stronger, healthier-looking skin. French sea clay revitalizes skin, microalgae scrub and phytic acid extreme gently exfoliate, and TEAOXI® green tea leaf delivers EGCG super antioxidants to protect against free radicals—working with ground ginkgo biloba leaf to optimize the skin’s natural renewal process.

My take: It is a light grey creamy mud with sparse amount of tiny grain. There’s no bits of leaves like the masks. It have a very light fresh fruity scent. You apply a layer to dry skin, then add water and rub. It did foam up a little, like gel cleansers but don’t expect a lather.  There was no tingling and it was easy to rinse off. My face felt clean and refreshed but not dry at all! If you found the Youthmud, the black exfoliating mask, to be too drying and abrasive like me, this is not as drying and much much gentler so don’t be afraid to give it a try. If you have oily or combination skin and want an exfoliating cleanser, I would recommend giving this a go. However, I would not recommend this for sensitive skin and prefer the white cleanser out of all the ones I’ve tried so far.

Skin condition: Since it’s getting warmer and I’m too lazy/busy to clean my humidifer regularly, I decided to phase it out. My skin was not happy. It was bumpy, dry and irritated. It may or may not have been worsened by the fact I’m currently testing the DDG medi-spa peel.

Products used: A bunch of random sample packets of cleanser and scrubs, and DDG medi-spa peel (twice before I stopped cuz I think it might be too intense). Also used a few sheet mask, the PTR Irish Moor mask and Perricone Chloroplasma…. not at the same time of course, I only use masks and scrubs 2-3 times per weeks so I won’t overwhelm my skin. As for the daily products:

  • Clarins foaming cleanser and Mario Badescu Enzyme cleanser
  • Dior Gentle Toning Lotion
  • DDG Hydration Booster and Dr. Jart Ceramidin liquid
  • Shiseido Benefiance eye cream
  • Algenist Overnight Restorative Cream and Belif True Cream Moisturizing Bomb
  • Lancome Bienfait Multi-Vital SPF 30 Cream (very perfumed, hurt a little when applied if my skin is irritated).

Other influences: So I’ve been eating a bit of junk food and spicy food, which might not have helped with the skin. I was too busy and lazy to exercise most of the time, but did manage to drag myself onto a treadmill twice. I gained weight over the winter and was not quite as fit as I hoped. I hope the snow this month is the last one, so I can try to set a regular schedule for exercise again.

Leave a Reply

