Calming masks: Origins Mega-Mushroom, FAB Oatmeal and Chantecaille Jasmine Lily

My undereye area always get a little dry and my cheeks sensitive every winter, so I decided to grab Chantecaille Jasmine and Lily mask when they had holiday promo last year. Since I can’t just refuse to go to work, I have to venture outside in the harsh weather to freeze my face off every morning. Thus, skincare for hydration and healing is especially important to make sure I’ve still got a face left when the winter is over.

ChantecailleSoothe2

I have combination skin and believed that gel masks absorbs better than cream for me, having previously tried Fresh Black Tea and Origins Drink Up masks, both of which sat on my skin but did not absorb. I didn’t expect much when I got samples of Origins Mega-mushroom and First Aid Beauty oatmeal mask, but I was happily surprised.

soothingmasks

While a lot of gel and cream masks hydrate on some level, healing and soothing masks are great for irritated or damaged skin. They are great for sunburned or windchapped skin, and are SUPPOSE to tone down redness. If your skin has been under some harsh weather this winter, or is a bit fragile/irritated from harsh peels, you might be interested in one of these masks.

Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin-Relief Face Mask

Description: This rich treatment mask rushes relief to challenged skin to rapidly soothe signs of compromise. Chinese black bamboo leaf extract quells and calms visible redness and reactivity. And a unique blend of marine algae and moisture-replenishing plant extracts helps revitalize and restore luminosity to stressed skin while rebuilding a protective barrier to help avoid future flare-ups. Great for all skin types, skin is left calm and comforted.

Ingredients: Water, Chamomile Flower Water, Rose Flower Water, Safflower Seed Oil, Butylene Glycol, Yeast Extract, Squalane, PEG-100 Stearate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glyceryl Stearate, Tribehenin, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Candelilla Wax, Hypsizygus Ulmarius Mycelium Extract, Reishi Mushroom Extract, Mushroom Extract, Ginger Root Extract, Holy Basil Leaf Extract, Turmeric Root Extract, Bamboo Leaf Extract, Olive Leaf Extract, Grapefruit Peel Extract, Sweet Orange Oil, Lavender Oil, Patchouli Oil, Mandarin Orange Peel Oil, Geranium Flower Oil, Olibanum Oil, Limonene, Linalool, Citronellol, Silybum Marianum Fruit Extract, Licorice Root Extract, Buckbean Leaf Extract, Ascophyllum Nodosum Extract, Sucrose, Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter, Rice Bran Oil, Asparagopsis Armata Extract, Kaolin, Cladosiphon Okamuranus Extract, Behenyl Alcohol, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Sorbitol, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Trehalose, Algae Extract, Caprylyl Glycol, Avocado Sterols, Charcoal Powder, Phytosphingosine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Potassium Carbomer, Carbomer, Hexylene Glycol, Dextrin, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol

My take: It is an off white lightweight cream with a slightly herbal scent. There is a slight tingling sensation when applied but it goes away pretty quickly. It does help to hydrate and heal a bit, but does not provide as much immediate result as FAB oatmeal (which we will talk about next). With that said, it has a pretty long ingredients list, altho mostly filled with plant extracts.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Instant Oatmeal Mask

Description: FAB Ultra Repair® Instant Oatmeal Mask is the perfect antidote to dry or distressed skin. With this 10 minute fix, skin is rehydrated and soothed. The result: soft, smooth, supple skin. The formula blends a duo of protective oats (Colloidal Oatmeal and Avena Sativa Oat Bran) with botanical antioxidants and skin nourishing ingredients to repair and revive the skin.

Ingredients: Water, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Caprylic/Capric/Succinic Triglyceride, Caprylic/Capric/Myristic/Stearic Triglyceride, Oat Bran, Colloidal Oatmeal, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Shea Butter, Octyldodecanol, Glycerin, Polysorbate 20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Decyl Glucoside, Cocoa Seed Butter, Polysorbate 60, Apricot Kernel Oil, Vanillin, Vanilla Planifolia Fruit Extract, Xanthan Gum, Dimethicone, Oat Kernel Extract, Licorice Root Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Feverfew Extract, Hippophae Rhamnoides Fruit Extract, Ginger Root Extract, Butylene Glycol, Bisabolol, Hydroxyphenyl Propamidobenzoic Acid, Caprylyl Glycol, Pentylene Glycol 1, 2-Hexanediol, Tetrasodium EDTA.

My take: the texture reminds me of Fresh black tea mask. It have no scent or sensation, does not hurt even on windchapped/damaged/irritated skin. When I rinsed it off, my skin looks brighter since it toned down the redness and it is definitely more hydrated. It is filled with calming ingredients and you can’t beat the price of $22 for 2oz, definitely worth its price and more. It doesn’t feel stuffy and rinse off easily, so I would recommend it for all skin types, oily or dry, that need some soothing from winter wind or summer sunburn.

Chantecaille Jasmine and Lily Healing Mask

Click image to enlarge for description/ingredients.

ChantecailleSoothe

My take: It is a lightweight cream with a light floral/rose scent. It feels lovely on the skin and the skin is hydrated and soft after I rinse it off. But that was it, as a mask, there was nothing to set it apart from cheaper hydrating/soothing masks. However, it also doubles as an overnight mask. I haven’t tried many overnight masks, but it feels much better than Clinique Moisture Surge or GlamGlow Thirstymud, which felt stuffy and sticky, and Fresh Peony, which kind of flaked on me. It is similar to Sisley Paris Black Rose cream mask in that they are both rose based, but this is much lighter in texture, less nourishing and cheaper.

Conclusion: First Aid Beauty surprised me since I’ve tried the cleanser and radiance pad before, neither of which impressed me. I went into the mask with very little expectation and came out happily surprised. Origins Mushroom mask didn’t do much for me, and Chantecaille feels absolutely lovely on the skin. Chantecaille does have the advantage of being able to double as an overnight mask, great choice if you want a cheaper and less rich alternative to Sisley Paris Black Rose cream mask. However, after it sinks in I noticed it flakes if I rub my face so I think I like it better as a rinse off mask instead. If I have not tried FAB then Chantecaille would be my top choice of calming/moisturizing mask for winter, but FAB did gave me immediate and noticeable effect so FAB it is.

2 thoughts on “Calming masks: Origins Mega-Mushroom, FAB Oatmeal and Chantecaille Jasmine Lily

  1. i like the chantecaille, especially paired with some of the other products they offer, but i agree that it isn’t as nice as the sisley. i didn’t care for the oatmeal mask, but i’m glad it worked for you! i’ve tried the origins drink up ones and didn’t find that very effective either :/

    1. Oh I love that Sisley Black Rose cream so much! I plan to buy a set to try in the fall or next spring when I used up more of my current skincare set, so it won’t run the risk of being expired before I get to it. Yeah, Origin Drink Up didn’t do much.

Leave a Reply

