Mud to Foam? GlamGlow Supercleanse and Thirstycleanse

When I was little, I always thought it was crazy how people are putting mud on their face to make them pretty. Fast forward a couple decades, I am now one of them. While I am pretty familiar with the concept of  mud masks, I’m not quite as fond of the idea of mud cleansers. The first mud/clay type cleanser I tried was Ren ClearCalm 3 Clarifying Clay Cleanser. It is thick, didn’t foam, and was difficult to rinse off completely. It didn’t dry out the skin but didn’t deep clean either. It was just awkward to use in general, and I didn’t try any similar type cleanser since then.

But then, GlamGlow came out with two mud cleansers. I’ve tried and enjoyed the Supermud and Youthmud (white and black) masks. The Powermud and Brightmud were a bit irritating but Thirstymud worked pretty well. Liking 3 out of 5 products is a pretty good record for a picky skincare addict like me, and the GlamGlow website was offering samples of the Thirstycleanse and Supercleanse, so why not try them?

Thirstycleanse Daily Hydrating Cleanser

GlamglowCleanser2

Description:”A revolutionary Mud to Foam™ daily cleanser that combines the Power of Mud and the Performance of Foam for a NEW Daily Cleansing experience. THIRSTYCLEANSE™ transforms from a luxurious mud into a moisture-rich foaming lather to gently & effectively rinse away make-up, dirt & impurities while deeply moisturizing your skin. Designed For Men & Women of All Ages & All Skin Types. THIRSTYCLEANSE™ for a Super Hydrated Super Clean Complexion.”

My take: It is a creamy mud that you apply to the face, then add water and rub to lather. You can get it to foam a little bit and it is a little difficult to rinse off compare with normal cleansers. It smells slightly sweet and fruity. The cleanser hurts a little bit on my irritated cheeks, not that much, but I would not recommend using it on irritated or sensitive skin. It’s leaves the skin soft and hydrated, but unfortunately I think my skin had a reaction to it. I also had a reaction to the Powermud dualcleanse mask, the green one, so if you were ok with the green and blue mask, then this cleanser should be fine for you. If you had a reaction to the green or blue mask, then I would not recommend using it, or exercise caution at least.

glamglowcleansera

Supercleanse Daily Clearing Cleanser

GlamglowCleanser

Description: “A revolutionary Mud to Foam™ daily cleanser that combines the Power of Mud and the Performance of Foam for a NEW Daily Cleansing experience. SUPERCLEANSE™ changes color & transforms from a luxurious mud into a gentle & effective foaming lather to dissolve oil & makeup, rinsing away pore-clogging debris, impurities & excess oil. Designed For Men & Women of All Ages & All Skin Types. SUPERCLEANSE™ for a Super Clear Super Clean Complexion.”

My take: Fortunately my skin likes this much better than the Thirstycleanse. It have a minty licorice scent and have a slight tingling/cooling sensation on the skin due to mint. It did foam up a little, feels good on the skin and was quite easy to rinse off. I didn’t take picture of the sample, but it was a dark grey mud that turns a light grey color as it foams up, similar to the image above of the Thirstycleanse. It left no residue, the skin was mattified but not dry and feels clean. I would not recommend it if you are sensitive to mint etc or have very dry skin, otherwise I find it quite enjoyable. Ah, also, the cleansers don’t have the annoying bits of leaves and stuff (yay). They come in a pump, more sanitary, but it also means you can’t see if you are running out but is left trying to guess by weight.

Conclusion: There is something in Thirstycleanse that kind of irritated my skin, but I also had the same problem with Dualcleanse. If you enjoyed the green and blue GlamGlow mask then this cleanser should be fine. If either of those irritated your skin, then I would not recommend this. There are plenty of good hydrating cleansers on the market such as Boscia Purifying and Clarins Gentle foaming cleanser. With that said, I did enjoy Supercleanse. It feels nice going on, rinses off easily, and left the skin clean/mattified but not dry. If you’ve got oily skin but don’t want something harsh, or is prone to clogged pores, then this is a great cleanser. The only thing similar that came to mind is Boscia black cleanser, which is a gel but also contain charcoal, but I enjoy this one more. For reference, I have combination skin, drier in the summer, oily with clogged pores around the nose. Have you tried the cleansers? do you enjoy them?

ps. The cleansers corresponding to the black and green masks will be released in March and May. However, since I had reaction to the green mask, I do not think I will be trying the corresponding cleanser. The black mask was a bit more harsh and drying than the white mask, so the black cleanser might be too drying for me. Unless I somehow got free samples again, I won’t be trying them.

One thought on “Mud to Foam? GlamGlow Supercleanse and Thirstycleanse

Leave a Reply

