Skincare Journal Jan: Origins Checks and Balance Cleanser

There’s a blizzard this week, yay New England, so I hope everyone stay warm and stay safe. Anyways, after half year of on and off use, I finally finished my Origins Checks and Balance Cleanser this month, yay! Now I can move onto one of my other 7 cleansers, just kidding….ish. But anyways, I do like this cleanser so here’s a little review.

OriginsChecksBalanceCleanser

Description: “When it comes to faces that are both dry and oily, it takes a clever cleanser to balance the two. This gentle, frothy face wash carefully does both jobs without canceling each other out. Skin feels comfortably refreshed after cleansing—never tight, pulled, or parched. Great for all skin types, it’s enriched with aromatic bergamot, spearmint, and lavender to add pleasure to the process.

Ingredients: Water, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Water, Potassium Myristate, Glycerin, Potassium Behenate, Sodium Methyl Cocoyl Taurate, Potassium Palmitate, Potassium Laurate, Potassium Stearate, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Oil, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Leaf Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium) Flower Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Citrus Aurantium Bergamia (Bergamot) Flower Oil, Linalool, PEG-3 Distearate, Tourmaline, Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Amorphophallus Konjac Root Powder, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Cetearyl Alcohol, Polyquaternium-7, Butylene Glycol, Disodium EDTA, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone

My take: It is a white creamy consistency out of the jar, and you don’t need much. It have a fresh minty scent. What I like about it is that it lathers very well, rinses off easily and makes your face feel squeaky clean but NOT tight or dry…..in the summer. I would definitely recommend it for oily, normal or combination skin but not dry combination or dry skin. There are a lot of plant oil and extracts in the cleanser, which I like, but some people are sensitive to them so be careful. If you are sensitive/don’t like mint or have dry skin, then I would recommend trying Clarins Gentle Foaming Cleanser or AmorePacific Treatment Cleansing Foam instead. Both of those also lathers well and leaves your face very clean, but are a tad less drying than Origins. Ah, also, I kind of like it for cleaning my makeup brushes. =P

Skin condition: It was a bit dry at beginning of the month, but then everything went to hell after a few days out shoveling snow in below freezing and windy weather….plus a cleanser that I had a reaction to. My skin was scaly, peeling, raw, and painful. It took me a week to get it under control again. Words cannot express how overjoyed and relieved I was when one morning when I woke up and felt oil around my nose. Oil and slightly clogged pores I can deal with, better than irritated/damaged skin at least.

Products used: I concentrated on healing and hydration. For cream masks, I used Origins Mushroom, FAB oatmeal and Chantecaille healing mask. I also used My Beauty Diary Vanilla, Etude House Olive, Etude House Shea and Nature Republic Shea sheet masks for hydration. For gentle exfoliators I used Bobbi Brown, Tatcha and AmorePacific powder. I didn’t use any clay masks since I had no oil to speak of.

  • Cleanser: Origins Checks and Balance, switched to Mario Badescu Enzyme Cleansing gel
  • Toner: Dior Gentle Toning Lotion with Velvet Peony Extract
  • Eye cream: Origins Plantscription cream
  • Serum: DDG Hydration booster and Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin liquid
  • Night moisturizer: Algenist Firming & Lifting cream, and various packets
  • Day moisturizer: Peter Thomas Roth Max Sheer lotion SPF30

Other influences: I am slowly winding down from the binge on holiday sweets and is keeping up with my weight/exercise journal. I ran 6 or 7 times this month in the exercise room, but it’s a little too cold for exercise room so I’m starting to switch to Yoga or pilates. I hope I can keep it up. I have been drinking a lot of soup, I think the salt makes me a little bloated, or at least that’s my excuse for lack of weightloss. =X

Leave a Reply

