Why so complicated? Eve Lom Cleanser and how it compares to others

I like trying different products, but I don’t like products with complicated instructions, half due to laziness and half due to convinience. If it’s a peel or mask to be used twice a week, fine, but a cleanser I use everyday? too much trouble. As I was going through my skincare samples, the Eve Lom cleanser caught my attention due to the bazillion steps. The instructions on the sample packet is actually a little different from the website.

EvaLomCleanser

Usage instruction:

-Massage a small amount onto the face and neck onto dry skin over the grime and makeup from the day.
-Fill a basin with hot water and immerse the Muslin Cloth.
-Squeeze off excess water and hold the cloth over the face and neck for a few seconds while taking a deep breath.
-The heat will soften the skin and open the pores allowing the aromatic oils to cleanse the skin of impurities. For optimum results repeat this stage three times.
-Fold the hot, rinsed cloth into a square and work it in small circular movements across the face and neck to remove all traces of Cleanser and makeup.
-The Muslin Cloth will gently exfoliate the skin surface and encourage healthy blood circulation, leaving the skin feeling exceptionally smooth.
-Rinse the cloth in cool water and hold over the face and neck. This helps close the pores, giving the skin a more even, toned appearance. It also leaves the skin feeling fresh and ultra clean.

But alright, I will play. Convince me why it’s worth it to spend 10 minutes washing my face when I could’ve done it in 5, not to mention it’s kind of expensive at $20-$30 per oz depending on which size you buy. So, is it worth the time and money compare to other makeup remover and cleansers?

Description (Sephora.com): The original balm cleanser. It is expertly balanced for all skin types, skin concerns, and environmental conditions. With its signature blend of four aromatic plant oils, specially woven 100 percent cotton Muslin Cloth, and quick routine, skin is left radiant with a smoother, more refined texture. Additional benefits: 

– Deep cleanses without drying or stripping the skin and removes even the most stubborn of waterproof makeup
– Thorough cleansing and gentle exfoliation support natural skin cell regeneration and provides a vital receptive base for beauty products to work at their best
– Decongests and helps drain toxins with the signature massage technique
– Exfoliates, tones, and improves circulation when combined with the Muslin Cloth
– Softens and conditions the skin
– Provides visible benefits for all skin types

IngredientsParaffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), peg-30 Lanolin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Bis-diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Aluminum Stearate, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, peg-75 Lanolin, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Oil, Eugenia Caryophyllus (Clove) Leaf Oil, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Humulus Lupulus (Hops) Cone Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Eugenol, Limonene.

As a cleanser

EvaLomCleanser1

The balm is clear yellow in color and turns into oil that melt onto your skin as I rub it in. It have a botanical, medicinal scent, probably from the essential oils in it. The cloth is two layers of muslin cloth. It is textured enough to exfoliate but soft enough to not irritate. My skin usually feel clean and smooth after cleansing, but after this it feels moisturized and….it’s ok I guess. I’ve got big cloggable pores, and after applying my usual serum and moisturizer, it feels a bit stuffy.

It claims to deep cleanse, which it did (but so does other cleansing balms and cleansing oil at half the price). It claims to exfoliate, which is due to the muslim (but so does cleansing brush or konjac sponge). It claims to decongest with signature massage, aka “rub in circular motion” but if you really want a massage I feel like any of these would be better. I don’t notice it made my skin any softer, more toned or refined. In short, it did satisfy most of its claim (except for the “quick” part), but it is not worth the time and the price, especially since it’s mostly mineral oil with lots of parabens in it.

As Makeup Remover

So that’s my opinion as a cleanser, but how does it perform as makeup remover? My favorite balm for removing makeup is Clinique Take the Day Off, and my favorite oil cleanser is Dior (altho Shu Uemura removes makeup better and faster). Here I applied a bit of Marc Jacob Highliner in Blacquer, Stila liquid liner, Benefit Hellow Flawless Oxygen foundation and Kat Von D lipstick. I blotted……then rubbed the balm/oil over it 10 times…..then rinsed them off.
EvaLomCleanser3The Eve Lom cleanser broke down the eyeliner pretty fast while Clinique worked faster on the lipstick, but after rinse, all the makeup are off for both. Dior was not as good as Shu Uemura at removing makeup and I should’ve used that one here, oh well.

In short, Eve Lom is a pretty good makeup remover. Clinique balm and Shu Uemura oil cleanser are just as great at half the price, albeit not as moisturizing. If we are talking strictly from the cleanser perspective, Ren Rosa Centifolia balm cleanser is the same but with better ingredients. Unless you’ve got severely dry skin and/or you couldn’t get enough hydration from your toner/serum/moisturizer, then maybe try this, otherwise it’s not really worth the price.

 

5 thoughts on “Why so complicated? Eve Lom Cleanser and how it compares to others

  1. Thank you for the honest review! I was interested in trying this some time back but the whole nine yards kinda put me off lol. I use the clinique cleansing balm when I have a face full of makeup to remove at night, otherwise I usually just use a good makeup removing cleanser ( right now I’m using origins checks and balances). Great review!

    1. I think it’s cuz this is the first balm cleanser I believe. But nowadays there are many variations with different ingredients so, eh. It is good at taking off makeup, and you actually don’t have to repeat the hot cloth press for it to work. You do need that muslim to wipe it off tho, and with my super cloggable pores, this is not my top choice.

Leave a Reply

