How expensive are you willing to go? AmorePacific and SK-II moisturizers

When it comes to where to put your money, skincare become more and more important as you age, and all the anti-aging ingredients make it more and more expensive as the wrinkles you want to fight increases. I’m not spending $100+ on a moisturizer (yet), but that doesn’t mean I’m not curious about it. Previously the most expensive skincare product I tried was Sisley Paris Black Rose cream mask, which I reviewed here. But it did contain more products than average so the $162 for 2.1oz works out to $77 per oz. To top that, the three moisturizers we will examine are:

  • AmorePacific Moisture Bound Rejuvenating Creme at $150 for 1.7oz ($88 per oz)
  • AmorePacific Future Response Age Defense Creme at $195 for 1.7oz ($114.7 per oz)
  • SK-II Cellumination Cream at $160 for 1.6oz ($100 per oz).

SKii_AmorePacific

They definitely cost a pretty penny (or ten thousand pretty pennies), but are they really worth it? do they make me feel awesome like Beyonce when I wake up? well, we will see about that….

AmorePacific Moisture Bound Rejuvenating Creme

mb-rejuvenating-creme

What it is formulated to do (from sephora.com): Formulated with pure, stabilized bamboo sap, this must-have cream supports the production of hyaluronic acid in the skin to retain moisture and stay hydrated all day long. The 24-hour time-release formula improves the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, supporting natural cellular turnover and regeneration while revealing brightness and radiance, and contains antioxidants to protect skin from free radical damage.

Top 5 ingredients: Phyllostachis Bambusoides Juice, Butylene Glycol, Alcohol, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate, Dimethicone

My impression: It feels like a gel cream, but hydrates much better than your average mid-end gel creams like Clinique Moisture Surge. This would be wonderful for dehydrated oily or combination skin, where you want more hydration but WITHOUT the heavy, rich and pore-clogging feeling of the intensely hydrating moisturizer. However, it is not as hydrating as SK-II or at least you need more of it to cover the whole face and provide the same amount of hydration. While it hydrates and feels nice, I didn’t see any dramatic difference on the skin that would make me go for this instead of something cheaper. Aside from bamboo water/juice, the rest of the ingredients didn’t look very special, and the good ones are not high enough on the ingredients list to be worth the price. Unless you know that bamboo water does miracle for you, there are comparable and cheaper moisturizers in my opinion with alcohol and dimethicone so high on the list.

AmorePacific FutureResponse Age Defense cream

s1454834-main-hero-300

What it is formulated to do (from Sephora.com): This formula designed to protect against pollution and free radicals, while restoring and reducing skin inflammation for younger-looking, healthy skin. Environmental aggressors from the sun, pollution, and other sources can cause stress to our skin and add to the signs of aging. This formula provides daily antioxidant defense to keep skin looking its best.

Ingredients: Camellia Sinensis Leaf Water, Butylene Glycol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Glycerin

My impression: While the MoistureBond Rejuvenating cream feels more like a gel cream or lightweight watery cream, this feels like a normal cream. It’s not liquidy or gel like, but it’s not heavy at all. It spreads and sinks into the skin easily, leaving a nice velvety moisturized feel. I like the fact that alcohol, dimethicone and other generic ingredients are lower on the list. On a cursory glance, this also contains more extracts and skin loving ingredients than MoistureBound Rejuvenating cream.

SK-II Cellumination Cream Ex
00737052548036

What it is formulated to do (from sephora.com): This luxurious cream acts as an illuminating moisturizer that helps to hydrate and refine the skin’s surface. It diminishes the appearance of dull, uneven skintone and dark spots, resulting in a natural, healthy looking glow.

Top 5 ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate, Niacinamide

My impression: You need very little to cover the whole face, about 1.5 pea size, while I need about twice that much for cheaper moisturizers. It feels like a lightweight gel cream, but it spreads well, sinks in easily and hydrates well. It’s great for combo skin, or dry skin in the summer. If you have dry skin you can still use it in the winter but might want to pair it with a hydrating cleanser, toner or serum. The skin looks good next day, hydrated but not oily, and the skin texture look nice. However, I noticed no brightening in the 2-3 weeks that I used it. One of my pet peeve with product marketing is that the star ingredients they flaunt are often way down the ingredients list, so even if you pay $50 the good/not-generic stuff might only consist of .001% of the product.

Overall: Eventho SK-II Cellumination worked out to be more expensive than AmorePacific MoistureBond Rejuvenating, you need less of it, and it does feel really good on the skin. Lightweight but hydrating, calming and does not irritate or worsen acne. While AmorePacific MoistureBond Rejuvenating didn’t do much for my skin aside from keeping it hydrated and feels lightweight, the FutureResponse Age Defense did make my skin look just as pretty as SK-II. It is a bit more of a cream than gel cream like SK-II and happens to be more expensive. The SK-II Cellumination and AmorePacific FutureResponse Age Defense cream did make more of a difference on my skin than mid-end moisturizers that I uses. As for if they are worth the $150+ price tag, that depends on how effective they are at the anti-aging aspect, which my skin is too young to tell. Anti-aging moisturizers do tend to be very rich, so if you want something anti-aging that makes your skin looks/feels amazing but is lighter, I think these two are worthy of being on your radar.

2 thoughts on “How expensive are you willing to go? AmorePacific and SK-II moisturizers

  1. The most expensive moisturizer I ever bought cost $150 ( Caudalie Premier Cru la Creme) and it was the biggest waste of money in the world. Ever since I switched to the natural route skincare wise, I havent spent nearly as much on one jar of moisturizer. My favorite face cream of all time is L’occitane Ultra Rich Face Cream, its heaven for my dry/sensitive skin. I still try different creme’s all the time ( skincare freak here) but havent found one I like *more* than my trusty l’occitane. However, I still really really want to try Creme de la Mer. If you ever get a chance to try it, I’d love your review on it. They have many different formulas, I’m interested in trying the original one. 1 oz is $160 ( and it seems to go up in price every year) and 2 oz is $295. Yikes.

    1. Well, I contacted La Mer once long ago for samples and they said they only send samples with purchase, eventho somebody else got different answer. I do have a little La Mer something, I think for eyes, in my stash and will try it at some point. Other than that, I think I’m gonna concentrate on finishing my samples rather than spending $100+ on a moisturizer, lol. I heard the original is good but very rich, so it’s probably better for dry skin like yours than combo like mine.

Leave a Reply

