Skincare Journal wk31: Orange lip color swatches

It’s August already, can you believe it? Spring seem so far away and summer passed by in the blink of an eye. Today is actually cool enough that I wore pants and didn’t sweat, that’s blasphemous. In an attempt to keep summer here as long as possible, I’ve been trying to get more use out of my orange/coral lipstick/gloss before putting them away in the fall/winter. While there’s a bazillion kind of pink and red, something that leans more orange is hard to find. Perhaps it doesn’t sound as wearable as the other two colors, but it is not as scary if you try a sheer orange, or orange with a pink/red undertone, or use it with a pink/red for an ombre lip effect……

OrangeLipsticksToday’s guest stars arrrreee…….

  • Lancome Gloss in Love in Glittermania – a sheer coral with silver microglitter. Instead of orange, it look more like a warm pink on the lips and will probably work with most skintone. It hugs the lips but doesn’t feel sticky at all.
  • Guerlain Gloss D’enfer in 940 Nehema Smack – it’s a sheer peachy coral, almost the same as the Lancome gloss but without the silver microglitter. Honestly, both look/feel the same on my lips except for the subtle silver glitter in Lancome.
  • Korres Lip Butter in Mango – it looks neon orange in the pot, but fear not because it is very sheer and spreads easily. A very thin layer will give your lips a warm tint rather than making it orange. You can put on more, but it won’t be the neon/radioactive orange you see in the pot.
  • Kat von D Painted Love Lipstick in A Go Go – it isΒ a bold and opaque orange red. I like pairing it with a bright red or pink red for ombre lips. Otherwise it is really very bright and unmistakably orange.
  • Revlon Colorburst Lip Butter in Candy Apple – it is more of a warm red rather than orange. It is quite pigmented for a tinted lip balm,Β almost like a med opacity lipstick but with a moist lip balm finish.
  • Tom Ford Lip Sheer in Sweet Spot – a sheer/med peachy coral. One light swipe give my lips a warm peachy tint and a couple generous swipes gives it more color and make it look more orange. While it made my lips look more peachy, it look bolder and more neon on my cooler toned friends.

OrangeLipsticks2So that was that. I’m gonna go put on some orange lip color and boycott wearing pants now. Ciao!

Skin condition: I accidentally doubled the spice for my curried cauliflower. So. Much. Curry/chili powder. Lots of spice tend to make my skin oilier so I’ve been pretty diligent with skincare. What I didn’t realize, make sense in hindsight, is that it also makes my scalp more oily so while my face look fine, I’ve got two big painful pimples in my hair on my scalp. =(

Products used: Origins Modern Friction peel pads to exfoliate, I’m convinced I will never finish using the generous sample of it that a nice SA gave me. Also used Algenist Brightening mask once, it feels nice but the sample is a bit dried out, so I will have to try it again to see how it is but so far it’s promising. Otherwise regimen stayed the same:

  • Origins Check and Balance cleanser
  • Etude House Wonderpore toner
  • Caudalie Vinoperfect Brightening serum
  • Origins Plantscription eye cream
  • Clinique Moisture Surge gel cream
  • Murad Essential+C spf30

My skin has been feeling a bit greasy, and since it’s adjusted to the Origins peel pad and Caudalie serum, I’m switching the Clinique moisturizer out for an even lighter one, Boscia Oil-free nightly hydration.

Other influences: *sign* Too much spice this week gave me scalp pimples. Also, I got fat due to the half dozen packs of Oreos I consumed last month. I’ve weaned myself off Oreos so my weight stopped increasing, and now it’s time to somehow reduce that 10lbs of Oreo fat. *sigh*….

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Skincare Journal wk31: Orange lip color swatches

  1. I love your blog, your swatches are great! Keep writing πŸ™‚ I’d love it if you’d give my blog a glance too! Emma x
    amomalousmebeauty.wordpress.com

    1. Thanks! I like how your blog is very professional looking, very chic. And awesome Lush haul! One day, I will live in a place with a pristine bathtub I’m not paranoid about using, then I’m going to buy a bazillion bath bombs…..

      1. Thank you so much! Ahha use them all at once and it’ll be like an amazing smelling jacuzzi! πŸ˜‰

    1. It is! I’m so relieved it doesn’t look garish/neon on me, just gave my lips a peachy tint. And it’s an orange with a pink undertone, so the leftover tint is pink, not some awkward orange.

Leave a Reply

