Can’t get enough candy? Prada Candy, Candy L’eau, and Candy Florale

Nice old sales ladies are the bane of my (wallet’s) existence. I can’t resist them. I respect old ladies who take care of their appearances and enjoy life, dying their head of white hairs pink or blue and dismisses their age with a wave of their hand. I’m kind of a sarcastic and cynical person, so it would be nice if I’m as cheerful as them when I’m at that age. They are so happy to talk about their products, so helpful instead of just repeating marketing buzz words, showered me with compliments and promised me samples and the next thing I knew I’m walking out of the door with Marc Jacob DOT, which I wasn’t planning to buy at all.

But anyways! One of the fragrance sample she gave me was Prada Candy. I generally prefer fresh and clean scent instead of gourmet, but this is classy instead of making me feel like I rubbed fruit juice/sugar on myself. Then later Sephora came out with mini perfumes for promo and I couldn’t resist getting them. The new one that came out this summer is Prada Candy Florale and since I’ve got minis of all three, looks like it’s time for a (comparison) party~~~ PradaCandy

PradaCandy1

Prada Candy Eau de Parfum

Notes: Caramel, Musk, Vanilla, Benzoin.

My take: It starts with a warm vanilla caramel scent, then the musk and benzoin slowly becomes more prominent while the sweet vanilla fades to the background. It have a musky powdery dry down with a hint of sweetness and hardness. And it have very nice lasting power, as expected of a perfume (instead of toilette). I generously sprayed one of my scarf with it, and the soft sweet scent lasted for days.

PRADA Candy L’Eau Eau De Toilette

Notes: White Musks, Benzoin, Caramel, Citrus, Oriental Florals.

My take: It starts with a sweet powdery floral, lighter and with less caramel than Candy. The citrus note is barely noticeable, only serve to make it slightly sharper than candy, which is rounder. After a couple of hours, the musk becomes more prominent with a hint of caramel. The dry down is a musky, powdery floral with a hint of caramel.

Prada Candy Florale Eau De Toilette

Notes: Sparkling Cedrat, Bouquet Of Cosmos, Benzoin, Caramel, White Musk.

My take: It starts as a sweet floral, but slightly soapy instead of musky like L’Eau. The musk and caramel comes out a bit more after awhile, but the scent doesn’t change that much. I also can’t smell any benzoin, no hardness/edge/metallic feeling. It’s a bit lighter than both the original Candy and L’Eau. Even when I douse the area with it and then immediately press my nose to it, it didn’t give me a headache from being too intense like the other two. This would be great if you are sensitive to strong fragrance or don’t want to wear a strong one to work, since it smells like a classy perfume soap.

Overall: If you want a nice gourmet scent, then the original Candy is great. The musk and bezoin makes it a bit heavier so it’s great for winter or if you like a more “grounded” scent. Candy L’Eau is great if you want a sweet, musky floral. Candy Florale is a light soapy floral so it’s great if you don’t want strong scents or prefer your musks to be subtle/in the background instead of foreground.

And that concludes my mini Fragrance Series. We will be back to my regular scheduled programming next week with some Karuna sheet masks! =)

One thought on “Can’t get enough candy? Prada Candy, Candy L’eau, and Candy Florale

Leave a Reply

