Skincare Journal wk25: Marc Jacob Daisy, Fresh, and Delight

Marc Jacob Daisy was my first high-end/designer fragrance years ago. It is a nice scent, but I have to admit, I did also kind of bought it for the packaging. Nowadays, it seems like there’s a new version of Daisy every season, enough to get you confused (or fire up your collector’s desire of gotta have them all!). For now at least, I happen to have 3 Daisies in my posession, the original Daisy, Daisy Fresh and Daisy Delight Eau du toilette, so I figure I’d do a comparison post.

s1029941-main-hero

MARC JACOBS Daisy

Notes: Strawberry, Violet Leaves, Ruby Red Grapefruit, Gardenia, Violet Petals, Jasmine Petals, Musk, Vanilla, White Woods.
My Take: It start off green fruity instead of sweet fruity, juicy, fresh and a bit crisp. After awhile the musk and wood becomes more prominent. It have pretty good lasting power, especially if I accidentally sprayed on clothe, I can still smell a hint of it (with stronger musk and wood) 8 hrs later.

MARC JACOBS Daisy Eau So Fresh

Notes: Raspberry, Grapefruit, Pear, Violet, Wild Rose, Apple Blossom, Musks, Cedarwood, Plum.
My Take: Initial impression is very similar to the original Daisy. It’s a green fruity scent, fresh and crisp. It is lighter and a bit sweeter than Daisy. The drydown is where it differentiate itself. After awhile, the scent becomes a bit powdery and floral, with a hint of sweet/tartness instead of the musky wood of Daisy.

MARC JACOBS Daisy Eau So Fresh Delight

Notes: Blood Orange, Pink Pepper, White Tea, Tiare Tahiti, Violet, Raspberry, Apricot Skin, Musk, Amber.
My Take: This is very different from the other two. It’s straight on sweet, citrus and fruity! Fortunately the drydown is more sophisticated than “sprayed myself with fruity juice”. The the floral and tea notes started coming through and you end up with a powdery citrus fruity scent.

MJDaisy
Sprayed on paper as well as skin to confirm. =)

Conclusion: Daisy and Daisy Fresh smells similar when first sprayed but have very different dry down. After half hour or so, Daisy have a more musky and woodsy scent while Daisy Fresh is a powdery floral. Daisy is also more intense than Fresh. If you want a gourmet scent or like very fruity scent, then Daisy Fresh Delight is what you want. If you like a light floral with some fruity notes, then try Daisy Fresh. If that is too light and you want a more noticeable bottom note, then the original Daisy is good.

Skin condition: This week has been good…ish. Got a couple of tiny whiteheads but they went away quickly. I exfoliated once this week instead of the 2-3 times per week I usually do, and I think my skin actually like it better. It doesn’t feel as dry/fragile and I think it’s the reason why the whiteheads went away faster, since I did not damage my skin via overexfoliation. I think from now on I will try to exfoliate 1-2 times per week instead of 2-3.

Products used: I really liked the Karuna Clarifying mask I used last week, but did not like the Exfoliating mask at all. Other than that regimen stayed the same:

  • AmorePacific Gentle treatment foaming cleanser
  • Etude House Wonderpore toner
  • Origins Plantscription eye cream
  • Diorsnow cream

I finally finished the sample of Diorsnow, and it’s about time too. It flakes on my skin a little so I don’t think I’ll be trying it again. This week I’ll be trying Kate Somerville Oil-free moisturizer, and Philosophy enzyme mask.

Other influences: summer is FINALLY here, as in there are finally good strawberries and blueberries in grocery store. I’ve been eating relatively healthy, altho I haven’t really exercised……does cleaning my room and organizing my beauty products count? =X

Leave a Reply

