Skincare Journal wk 23: Nails Inc Floral Polish

Now that I’ve switched out my winter clothe, skincare and makeup for summer ones, I’ve got a sudden craving for anything pastel and floral, down to the nail polish. While browsing Sephora, I came across two floral nail polish that looks perfect for spring/summer. Sephora Formula X Cherry Blossom Top Coat and Nails Inc Floral collection.

NailsIncFloral

I couldn’t decide between the Sephora one or Nails Inc, but then I read the blog post from dear friend Rikkie (Excessive Color) about how mediocre Sephora one is. Thinking I was so smart, I went for the Nails Inc Floral polish in Daisy Lane. Well, turns out, it have the same problem. First of all, throw out any notion of it being a top coat. The flowers are hard to get out, doesn’t lay flat and difficult to get staying put etc. With some trick in application, that can be fixed, but basically if you are looking for pretty flowers you can just swipe on and go, this is not it. However, it is pretty and can look good if you are willing to put in a little effort…..

NailsIncFlower

…now then, the first thing is to swirl the brushes and try to dig out one or two flowers. Then you swipe it on as normal and can see the little dots, but the flower is either in the wrong place or still on the brush. Dab the flower onto the nail and gently push it to where it is. You need to be fast here since you don’t want to smudge the polish underneath (even if it was completely dried before). Then when it’s half dry, gently press down on the edge of the flower for a couple seconds at time to help make it stick to the curve of your nail (either with a thin stick or your finger, it’s easy to get polish off skin, don’t worry about it unless you’ve got sensitive skin). It’s ok if you’ve got some finger print on it, because the flowers are prone to peeling off and you are gonna want a top coat (I use Nails Inc). Now, if you’ve done it correctly so the edge of the flower is not sticking up/peelable after the top coat dries, the nail art will last you a good week with a top coat. If the edge is sticking up, well, either peel that flower off, fish one out from the bottle and press it on, or redo the whole thing. I’m liking it as an accent on one nail, but it’s too much effort to do it on all my nails. Enjoy!

Skin condition: I got some small underskin acne on the jaw earlier this week, which are more hormonal related and gone by now, yay! Aside from the light pink and flesh colored bumps, everything else look fine for now. Ok pores and skin is not too oily or dry (despite the peels, *phew*).

Products used: I used up my Peter Thomas Roth Retexturizing laser scrub last weekend, then the two PTR Gentle Complexion pads I got as sample from a nice Sephora SA. The PTR scrub didn’t make my skin red/itchy this time, so I suspect that the condition was due to something else last time I used it and have put the scrub on the Nice List. The Gentle Complexion pad and the Clarifying mask from Karuna helped reduce my blemish (can’t wait to talk about Karuna next wee! Excited~~). With all that, I skipped my normal scrub this week but otherwise regimen stayed the same:

  • AmorePacific Gentle Treatment cleansing foam
  • Etude House Wonderpore toner
  • Ole Henriksen Truth Serum
  • Origins Plantscription eye cream
  • Tarte Maracuja oil or Dior Snow cream

Yay I’m done with that mini bottle of Oh truth serum! I used the maracuja oil after the PTR pad, but alas, my skin is in summer mode now so it doesn’t sink in and feels itchy despite the fact it’s a fairly lightweight oil. The sample of Diorsnow White Reveal Fresh creme was nicer than expected. Some of the “whitening” cream I’ve tried before feels like there’s powder in it so it looks white when applied, but nope, this is just a nice and thick cream that smoothes on easily and sink in without leaving an oily feeling, eventho my skin is oily-combo. If you do like Dior skincare, it is 10% off at Nordstrom right now on the website. I haven’t tried it enough to tell anything beyond application, so it’s what I will use next week. No serum, but I will use the Karuna Exfoliating mask.

Other influences: Finally went to an asian grocery store this week! I like my share of meat, but normal salads are so boring so I was quite happy to binge on bean sprouts and other asian veggies. I may or may not also have binged on mochi ice cream but *cough* anyways….. Now that it’s June, it finally feels like summer in New England, which also means I need to make sure to drink more water and wear hats so all my even-skintone effort with peels don’t go to waste. Boo….

2 thoughts on “Skincare Journal wk 23: Nails Inc Floral Polish

  1. Oh I love the idea of the flower “top coat” but it seems to be one of those things that look nice in the adverts but not really in real life. 😦 I don’t really wear nailpolish but there’ve been some really interesting effects kits that have caught my eye.

    1. Yeah, it does look nice in real life, too, but it take some effort. I don’t think I’ll be dabbling in more special effect kits, since I ain’t got the patience for it, lol.

Leave a Reply

