Skincare Journal wk19: KVD Monarch vs. Saint eyeshadow palette

I know that Kat Von D eyeshadows are great quality, and with my obsession with orange, it took a lot of effort to resist the newly released Butterfly palette in Monarch. The major reason why I decided to pass on it is because I already have the Kat Von D True Romance eyeshadow palette in Saint, a beautiful neutral palette where I love every shade (doesn’t happen often). I swatched them both instore to see if there are any overlaps.

KatVonD butterfly saint

The Monarch palette is much larger and have some matte as well as shimmer and very shimmery options. It also contains cooler neutrals (and an awesome burnt orange) as well as warmer neutrals. Basically there’s more options in terms of color and finish as well as more quantity.  I almost never wear cool colors and haven’t hit pan on any of my eyeshadows yet, so I decided to skip. But, if you don’t have Saint or Monarch, it is worth getting one of them.

KatVonD PaletteComparison

All the shadows feel buttery smooth and are pigmented. The only con I see is that some people might prefer it to not be so pigmented or shimmery. If you are looking for a shimmery/glittery neutral palette, Urban Decay Naked 1/2/3 palettes are great choices. Too Faced Chocolate Bar have a mix of matte, shimmer and glittery. It also have a cocoa scent, which may be a pro or con for some people. If you prefer matte, try Naked Basics for cool matte, Stila In the Know for cool and warm, and there is a matte one from Too Faced that I haven’t checked out and is suppose to be good.

Skin condition: I am in the middle of using Dr. Dennis Gross Extra Strength Alpha Beta peels. It helps to minimize the whitehead I have, did nothing for the 2 acne that is going to stay here for an eternity, and turned a couple of underskin bumps around my lips into whitehead. I’m ok with that, temporarily, as long as it goes away! I will be done with the pack of 6 early next week and we will see what happens to my skin. In the mean time, my skin is not dry or irritated (a plus) but I’ve got half dozen tiny little whitehead and 2 acne that are veeeeerrrryy slowly going away.

Products used: I used Caudalie vinoperfect serum twice last week then stopped because want to make sure whatever effect I see is from the peel and not other new products. Right now the regimen is simple, no scrub or clay mask, just occasional hydrating mask (Peter Thomas Roth cucumber and rose mask) and:

  • AmorePacific Treatment Cleansing foam
  • Etude House Wonderpore toner OR DDG Extra Strength Alpha Beta peels
  • Origins Plantscription eye cream
  • Nude ProGenius oil

Sometimes effect of a peel takes a few days to show up, so instead of trying something new immediately, I’m going to stick to this serum-less and (mostly) mask-less regimen next week. =/

Other influences: Spring is here and I no longer crave heavy creamy warm stuff, unfortunately my sweet tooth still remains. Aside from fruit tarts, I’ve been eating relatively healthy and mustard-y. I made a dressing of mustard, honey, red wine vinegar, salt and olive oil. It’s a good leafy salad dressing but I’ve also been using it mixed with peas/corns/shrimp salad. Overall, yum. I got on the treadmill/elliptical twice this week before I plan to shower, but I should do some exercise on the days I don’t shower, maybe yoga? I have been getting enough sleep, altho I really should make an effort to sleep before midnight instead of after 2am. Other than that, so far so good.

2 thoughts on “Skincare Journal wk19: KVD Monarch vs. Saint eyeshadow palette

Leave a Reply

