Skincare Journal wk18: Dior Transat Eyeshadow Palette in Sundeck

Dior is a classy brand, and majority of their skincare is surprisingly kinda good. I mean, it’s a makeup brand, so I wasn’t expecting anything from their skincare lines, but I rather enjoyed One Essential and the Hydralife products I tried. Now back to makeup! I have a couple of mini lipstick from them as well as the Skinflash Radiance Booster pen, all of which I rather like. However, when it comes to eyeshadows, it’s a hit or miss for me. I swatched a bunch of them (Golden Flower, Rosy Tan, Incognito, and Earth Reflection) before and while I love the texture/finish, some of the colors don’t really show up very well for some of the palette. At $61, I want every single one of the five colors to have nice payoff/intensity as well as texture/finish. Well, I swatched the new 2014 edition in Sundeck on a whim because I can’t resist a pretty orange and surprisingly, all 5 of the colors were pretty smooth AND nicely pigmented with 3 gentle swipe of the finger.

DiorTransatSundeck

While I’ve got plenty of bright and neutral colors, it is rare that I would love all the shades from a palette, and I love all 5 shades in this one. Right now my goal is to hit pan on at least 2 eyeshadows from my collection so I can justify buying it. If you want a more detailed review, my friend Jenn has a great review up on her blog. Also, if anyone is wondering about the new Dior nude blush and bronzer in the Transat collection, they are great. I tried the blush and it gives a soft pink glow, no glitter. They are not replacement for the blush/bronzer version of shimmerstar, which was more shimmery and have less color. Now then, are you a Dior fan? and what are your favorites? And read on for the actual skincare journal if interested…

Skin condition: The skin is calm and soft and hydrated. The pimple is refusing to leave. GO AWAY ALREADY. It’s just that one annoying pimple stubbornly clinging to my cheek, ugh. Since I’ve been wearing foundation more often recently, the pores around my nose are getting more clogged more often. Looks like I have to use either the Origins Charcoal mask or a peel off mask (Sekkisei Kose) once a week.

Products used: I used the Mario Badescu Buffering lotion, but it doesn’t seem to have done much for my pimples, so I decided to try the sample of the drying cream instead, which worked slightly better. Also used DDG alpha beta peel once this week, felt a little harsh/stinging on step 1 but step 2 was ok and I had no redness/reaction/irritation after use.  There’s been some changes in skincare regimen since I’m in the process of switching to summer mode:

  • AmorePacific treatment foam cleanser
  • Etude House Wonderpore toner
  • Caudalie Vinoperfect Radiance serum – has been wanting to try it and heard good reviews, but its a bit too heavy for height of summer. Right now looks like a good time since winter stuff are too heavy and summer stuff is a bit too light at the moment.
  • AmorePacific MoistureBound Rejuvenating Cream
  • Origin Perfect World moisturizer with spf25

Now that I’m off retinol, might switch to one of the mini enzyme/glycolic cleanser that I have to finish that up first. I’ve got 5 Dr. Dennis Gross Alpha Beta Peel pads, so I’m planning to use that + Nude ProGenius oil on alternate days (instead of the toner/serum/cream). My skin is plenty soft, I just hope the peel pads can do something about the bumps and maybe acne.

Other influences: Busy week so lack of sleep, which is not helping my eye bags, and traveling so no exercise. Yes, I know what you are thinking, but….

true

I did, however, manage to eat very health. Due to my recent binge spending on Guerlain products, cooking is healthier than eating out both for me and my wallet. Plenty of vegetables with some egg, pork, and grains like rice and couscous. And lots of fruit teas from Teavanna, they are good hot or cold (just make it stronger with a bit more sugar).

9 thoughts on “Skincare Journal wk18: Dior Transat Eyeshadow Palette in Sundeck

    1. Hahahaha! You are like “Sundeck? pssshhh! I already blogged about that! *chants* Guerlain Guerlain Guerlain!”

      Oky dok, I will post about all my LE Guerlain stuff instead of some blush stuff for Wed/Thurs. Proper eye candies coming up. =)

    1. Howdy!

      Glad you like my posts. =)
      Honestly my face is a shade darker than my neck, so I never wear bronzer eventho I have them, lol. I do like blush and highlighter, which helps to brighten the face and makes me look more awake, so I mostly treat the highlighter and bronzer as a way to adjust the color of the blush (and sometimes use bronzer as a lid shadow). I think compact is great if you use all 3 on a daily basis, but if there’s one you use way more than other then single might be the way to go.

      Just checked out your blog, love the yellow polka dot dress, it’s so sunny and cheerful!

      Cheers. =)
      Fanya

      1. thank you for your wonderful response! bronzers are great for achieving a perfect sun-kissed look! and yes! i love that yellow dress too! i love colors that are so vibrant, it makes me happy!
        following you now!
        cheers!

Leave a Reply

