Skincare Journal wk14: Sisley Paris Black Rose cream mask

Ahh, THE most expensive product I’ve ever tried so far. The full size product is $158, and even the sample packet I got came out to ~$10. I end up scraping every single last bit to use on my face so no swatches to show, but it’s a light pink colored gel cream. It doesn’t have the typical rose scent, but a floral scent, and does feel nice on the skin. No cooling, tingling, or any such sensation. There is no greasy feeling but it doesn’t dry like gel masks, the creamy finish actually kind of reminds me of GlamGlow ThirstyMud, but not as stuffy feeling even if I pile it on overnight. Since it’s a leave on mask, I’ve been using it after cleansing/toning as an overnight mask/moisturizer.

Sisley Paris black rose mask

I first opened the packet because my cheeks are cracked, flaky and scaly from the cold wind. I have to say it didn’t really sink in and I did not see much of an effect. However, once I started using a manual exfoliator (scrub) to help clear away the top flaky dead skin layer BEFORE using the mask, it sinked in much faster and I did woke much with much softer and smoother skin than when I was using my other skincare products. Especially in the winter sometimes, no matter how much moisturizer I use, my skin feels dry within seconds of cleansing even if with just water. After using the mask, my skin was not only more hydrated but stay hydrated a bit longer. I didn’t have to scramble for serum/moisturizer right after cleansing/toner because my skin is rapidly getting parched. And my complexion does look refreshed/dewy in the morning in addition to being velvety smooth.

I don’t know about anti-aging, but it does make your skin amazingly smoother, softer, more hydrated inside and outside (more than any of the <$60 serum/moisturizer I use). However, that little difference is not quite enough to cover the $100 price difference at my age. If you have really dry skin and feels like most moisturizer only moisturizes the outside but don’t actually make your skin stay hydrated, this is great. It works wonders if you make sure your skin is well exfoliated before using it (but don’t overexfoliate). I ain’t got the fund for it, but if I do see samples of it popping up, you bet I’ll be hoarding it like mad.

Skin condition:  After I start using manual exfoliation, my face was SO AMAZINGLY SOFT. I did notice my pores are smaller this week, but not sure if it’s due to the Philosophy Peel or the Sisley Paris rose cream. I would like to think it’s the Philosophy peel and might repurchase to confirm, cuz there’s NOway I’m spending $158 on an overnight mask/moisturizer even if it gives me invisible pores. @.@ I then went back to my normal retinol regimen and while my skin were soft, it wasn’t as awesome as before. And welcome back, one day of pink flaky face. I have decided I don’t like retinol, I don’t like the pink face. I also don’t like salicylic acid, it dries out my skin and makes it flaky. Since products are more effective when there’s small concentration of multiple acid rather than a large dose of one acid, I will allow salicylic acid in my skincare only if it’s accompanied by Vitamin C and glycol (which my skin does like very much).

Products used: I used Clinique 7 day scrub cream ever 2-3 days, and Sekkisei Kose peel off mask once when my pores feel a bit stuffy. After finishing Sisley Paris Black Rose cream (*sob* I will miss you!) I went back to my normal regimen:

  • AmorePacific Gentle foaming cleanser
  • Etude House Wonderpore toner
  • PTR retinol PM serum
  • Origins Plantscription eye cream
  • Nude Progenius oil – it’s getting warmer and I find myself using less of it (5-7 drops before, but now 3-5 drops for the whole face).
  • Benefit moisturizer SPF15

I think the Benefit moisturizer *might* be clogging my pores? not sure, needs to confirm. For now I’m back to using Origins Brighter by Nature, then I will switch to Benefit next week and see if it’s true.

Other influences: Lots of soup and misc this week. Miso soup with seaweed, tofu, mushroom etc. Blanched broccoli topped with Gruyere cheese, yum. Rice with raw eggs (and soy sauce+sriracha sauce), I blame my Japanese friend for getting me hooked on it (yes, raw egg in US can be dangerous, I only try this once in a while with organic egg). Carrot Ginger soup from Trader Joes, which has confirmed that 1) I HATE carrot soup, store bought or homemade, and 2) anything will taste passable if you put enough cheese in it. Still taste weird? just add more cheese. I did day 12 and 13 of the 30 day challenge and that’s it. O.O

ps. Don’t watch any program involving eating delicious food late at night. It will make you craving food and mad at the fact you don’t have anything just as delicious/yummy looking in your fridge. *sigh*…….

4 thoughts on “Skincare Journal wk14: Sisley Paris Black Rose cream mask

Leave a Reply

