And here we go again…. Ren Rosa Centifolia Cleansing Water

So when I tried Caudalie and Sephora cleansing water, I wasn’t impressed. When I tried KGD cleansing water, I love it. When I tried Bioderma cleansing water, I found it to be just as effective as KGD. I know that Dior and Lancome also have cleansing water, but those are more expensive and consider the rate at which I go through the cleansing water and how effective KGD/Bioderma are, I see no reason to switch. I thought I was done flirting with cleansing water, but then one of my friend recommended Ren cleansing water to me. It’s $25 for 6.8oz while KGD is $26 for 6.76oz, so there isn’t that much difference in price BUT…….Ren cleansing water does not contain paraben that KGD have. And here I go again, just have to get a sample and see if I found another dupe for KGD.

Ren rose cleansing water

Skincare benefit: The main ingredient of this is rosewater. I have done a DIY of rosewater before and can attest to the calming, refreshing and rejuvenating property. It felt so good on my dry/overheated skin after a day in the sun and left my skin hydrated and velvety smooth. So Ren definitely moisturizes and tones. It does not feel weightless afterward like water, but it left the skin smooth and not stuffy. It’s hydrated enough without needing moisturizer afterward for my combo skin. As a cleanser/toner, I would recommend this. However, when I was trying to remove my eye makeup, it slightly burned my eyes. I did saturate my cotton pad, but it wasn’t the “it might irritate if you really are looking for it”, it warmed my eyes and made it water. I’m not allergic to rosewater, since I used my DIY rosewater and Origins No Puffery (with rosewater as a main ingredient) on my eyes generously with no problem. But anyways, let’s look at it’s effectiveness as a makeup remover.

Makeup removing: To test the makeup removing ability, I applied face makeup (Tarte Amazonian Clay blush, Urban Decay Naked foundation in 8.0), Shiseido lipstick, Kat Von D eyeshadow and Marc Jacob Highliner in the middle. Also the letters written in Stila waterproof liquid eyeliner:

RenRoseCleansingWater1

So I’ve got face, lip and eye makeup, time to take them off! I saturated the cotton with KGD cleansing water then did 5 slow and gentle wipes over the area:

RenRoseCleansingWater2

The blush and eyeshadow came off pretty easily and there doesn’t seem to be much change in the lipstick and MJ eyeliner. For foundation, it seems KGD took off more than Ren. With 5 more firm wipes….

RenRoseCleansingWater3

Yup, KGD is definitely better than Ren. With a light bit of rubbing, I was able to completely take off the MJ eyeliner with KGD. Ren did take some more rubbing.

Overall: So KGD and Bioderma cleansing water are definitely comparable in terms of skincare and makeup removal. As for Ren, it is great as a cleanser in the morning if you’ve got dry/sensitive skin (just don’t get it on your lashline) and as a hydrating toner any time, but it’s definitely not as good at removing makeup as KGD and Bioderma. It irritated my eyes, and I wasn’t even trying to take off mascara, only some eyeliner. While I have to admit Bioderma is good, looks like I’m not cheating on KGD with Ren any time soon.

2 thoughts on “And here we go again…. Ren Rosa Centifolia Cleansing Water

  1. I love these comparisons you do!! I Love the KGD, But i haven’t purchased it since i have other makeup removers to go through! But when i run out of all my wipes, and cleansing oils, i’m definitely buying my some KGD! And it’s all your fault πŸ˜›

    1. Haha, I will gladly take that blame. Keep an eye out on Hautelook then, they’ve had KGD on there at least twice already with cleansing water for half price, so that’s where I’ve been getting mine.

Leave a Reply

