Skincare Journal wk9: A little shopping trip

 Visited a couple of friends yesterday, just got back, but not before I swing by a few Sephora and Nordstrom Rack. Nordstrom Rack does have some good stuff. The one I went to have lots of Bliss and Stila products with some Kielh and Nars. I’ve been eyeing the Stila liquid liner for a while and saw a set for $15, pretty good deal, eh? I’m also very very obsessed with orange eyeshadows. Not coral, not sheer orange, not rust/brownish orange, but ORANGE orange. I do have Maybelline color tattoo but I want a powder formula, and MUFE seems to be the jackpot.

EyeHaul

I was looking for liquid eyeliners that are good for cat eyeliner/winged liner/very detailed work. I’ve narrowed it down to Marc Jacob Magic Pen, Kat Von D Tattoo eyeliner, and Stila Stay All Day waterproof liquid liner. MJ pen is foam tipped and gives a slightly shiny finish, not shiny as in shimmer/glitter, but a duller one like leather, and I’m not sure if I like that. KVD eyeliner have a brush tip and is excellent for detailed work. The swatch of the four Stila liners are shown below. Stila is foam tipped, but in terms of application, color and detailed work, there’s really no difference between Stila and KVD. Both are great, waterproof, and stubborn even when makeup remover is used. The only difference is a slight bit in price/quantity, and that one is foam tipped while the other is brush tipped.

EyeHaul2

The MUFE eyeshadow is not quite the same as Maybelline. Maybelline Color Tattoo is more of an yellow orange while MUFE is more of an reddish orange. I love both of them, and they both look great on my yellow undertoned skin with a thin winged liner. The color tattoo is more of a cream formula while MUFE is powder. The powder doesn’t feel as buttery soft as UD or Lorac, but it stays well on the lid and the color is pretty intense (the swatch above is with finger, not over primer). Love them.

Anyways, that’s that. For now, skincare journal…….

Skin condition: Skin is not too oily or dry, just it normal combination self. I had minor flaking around the mouth for a couple of days when I decided to use 5-7 drops of PTR retinol PM instead of the 3 drops I usually do, but mostly the skin is fine. The main thing is I got 3 gigantic whiteheads, one after the other, on my upper lip. Not sure if those were from the diet (too much dairy and spicy food and oranges) or if those were just the under skin bumps finally coming out. Anyways, they are gone today, just red spots…..I seem to be getting quite a lot of those. Hmmm, I don’t think retinol helps with red marks, guess I’ll use one of my brightening serum after I’m done with retinol.

Products: Aside from Clinique 7 day scrub cream, used up my sample of Fresh Black Tea mask and GlamGlow hydrating mask. They are both nice, but if I’m going to spend $60+ on a hydrating mask, I think I prefer sheet mask better. Otherwise daily routine stayed the same

  • Boscia Purifying cleanser
  • Etude House Wonderpore toner
  • PTR retinol PM serum
  • Origins Plantscription eye cream
  • Nude ProGenius oil
  • Supergoop eye cream with SPF
  • Origins Brighter by Nature moisturizer with SPF35

The only exception to the routine was when I stayed overnight at a friend’s place and really can’t be bothered to bring everything, so I just brought cleansing water, cotton pad, Nude oil, lip balm, and Origins spf35 moisturizer. And a one time use mini toothbrush. That’s it. For next week, I’ll be using up the last bits of my Fresh black tea mask, rose mask and sugar scrub.

Other influences: I visited 3 different group of friends this weekend, drank a bit, checked out lots of Sephoras, and ate quite a bit of spicy and junk food. Which means I moved around quite a bit, yay exercise, but also that I need to start detoxing food-wise before all the stuff gets to my skin. The fridge is now stocked with veggies and no more baked goods. =O

2 thoughts on “Skincare Journal wk9: A little shopping trip

Leave a Reply

