Skincare journal: week 1

So it’s been a week, currently cleaning up my disaster of apt and there’s so much to do and get ready for the beginning of the year! And oh! I finally went to a dermatologist this week for the first time! I was so happy about finally having my bazillion skincare questions answered, but the derm responded to EVERYTHING with a “not your problem”, “you don’t need it” or “it’s a marketing ploy”. Then dismissed internet as bogus (what about FDA? skincare association?) and touted his 30 yrs of derm experience. Finally he mentioned how food/vitamins/environment/hormone has no correlation with acne and no one knows why it happens…..that was the last straw. It’s not like I’m trying to steal his trade secret! I made my skin flawless based on my own research before (before I tested a bazillion product and got lazy about skincare) and I can damn well do it again!

With that said, he confirm that it was indeed acne on my chin (and not allergy so I can treat it with the appropriate “marketing ploy” from MY stash). Eventho acne is commonly associated with oily skin, do you know that drying out your skin can cause acne too? Since the ones I currently have may be caused/worsened by the dryness of my skin, I finally start using the hydrating masks in my stash instead of just hem and haw and stare at it. Just you watch, I’m not buying your drug and I WILL get better skin!

skincare_journal
Yay a picture for the journal entries!

Skin condition: My skin is still a bit dry on the cheeks but the obvious flakes are gone and it no longer hurt/feels sensitive when I apply moisturizer, probably due to regular use of moisturizer and the hydrating masks. The whitehead on my forehead is mostly gone leaving a red dot and my Big Dipper acne constellation has faded, leaving a splattering of little red marks, bumps and a couple whiteheads along my chin. GAWD my skin texture is horrible. I was so tempted to use peels, but one thing at a time.

Products: Last week, I used the regimen mentioned last time along with PTR cucumber mask and Origins Drink Up, each once last week. Since the acne are mostly gone and I used up the last bit of my Clinique scrub, then maybe it’s time to use a peel/mask scrub and clay mask? I’ve had my sample of Philosophy Microdelivery Dual-phase Peel for waaay too long, so I’ll be using that 1-2 times a week until it’s gone. Origins Charcoal Mask 2-3 times a week, and maybe a sheet mask depending on the skin condition. I’m finally done with my Mario Badescu day/eye cream, so my current regimen will be (changes are in green):

  • Boscia Purifying Gel Cleanser
  • Origins Perfect World Toner
  • Ole Henriksen Truth Serum
  • Algenist Overnight Restorative Cream
  • Origins Plantscription Eye Cream (only opened once last yr to make sample for a friend, the expiration date is 6M. Whaaat, fine, I’ll stick with it until it’s empty)
  • Josie Maran Argan Daily Moisturizer spf40 (I barely used it last yr and it expires 04/14. yikes!)

Other influences: Instead of hibernating in the house, I was running a ton of errands this week, which unfortunately was majority of my exercise. Diet is normal aside from having a drink with some friends. I have come to term with the fact I won’t be able to use ALL of my skincare this year, so I’ve separated them into stuff I should use this yr and stuff that can wait until next yr as well as things for winter/summer. I can now say with confidence that I have enough skincare to last me until next summer (which means I have absolutely zero reason to buy any skincare until then *whimpers* ….we will see).

2 thoughts on “Skincare journal: week 1

  1. Hahaha about the “not your problem” dermatologist and you stealing his trade secrets! That’s so arrogant for him to tell you it’s “not your problem”.

    Good luck with the journal! When I started an acne diary last year it really helped me to figure out that physical sunscreens were causing huge cystic acne.

Leave a Reply

