Skincare journal: week 0

Happy New Year! Ok, it’s time to kick off my skincare journal. I always get exponentially lazy with skincare around holidays (and makeup? ha, what is that?). That combined with dry wintry weather always means terrible skin. Maybe I should have asked Santa for better skin as the Christmas present (#random. Just realized Santa and Satan differ just by one letter….aaaanyways). It’s not like I don’t know how or can’t get better skin, so chop chop! Time to pick up the slack! Let’s see, for starter, we have…….

Skin condition: I have a big whitehead right in the middle of my forehead, a Big Dipper constellation of small fading acne (including 1 med size) on my chin, patches of dry skin on the undereye/orbital bone area, and small milia/red acne marks around my cheek/jaw. Heh, lovely start for the author of a beauty blog, eh? #sarcasm

Products: currently I’ve been skipping skincare every other day, but starting today, I will be using these consistently! For day time, it’s going to be a cold water rinse then Mario Badescu Collagen Moisturizer SPF 15. For night time:

  • Clinique 7 day scrub cream (2x a week)
  • Boscia purifying cleanser
  • Origins Perfect World toner
  • Ole Henriksen truth serum
  • Mario Badescu Hyaluronic Eye cream
  • Algenist overnight restorative cream

I love that Algenist cream, and I will probably do a review for most of those products before I finish it. I have already done a review for all the Mario Badescu products here on BeautyTalk so I won’t repeat my post here.

Other influences: Aside from the occasional shopping every week, I haven’t stepped out of the house or exercised at all. Food wise I’ve been trying to drop a few pounds without resorting to drastic measures, so right now it’s just a cup of tea for breakfast, whatever i want to eat for lunch (but not until I’m stuffed silly) then 2-3 fruits for dinner with some nuts for snacks (instead of a proper meal). So far that has helped me to shed 2 lbs last week, but I’ll probably hit a bump/wall at some point if I don’t step it up. For this week, I’m going to pick up some light yoga, will report back next week on how that went.

4 thoughts on “Skincare journal: week 0

  1. Congratulations on the blog! I cant wait to read more! My skin is dry and sensitive right now and my holy grail face cream is l’occitane ultra rich face cream—-I’ve been through god knows how many jars of this and I have yet to find a cream I like better for PM use. I’m pretty proud of myself for *finally* using eye cream ( 25 is not too late to start right?) Love the blog, and love having you on BT!

    1. I do have samples of L’occitane cream! Sometimes if I overdo a peel and my skin hates me, that’s what I use afterward. Right now the Algenist moisturizer in my stash will last me at least another winter, but I don’t want to pay $90 for a winter moisturizer so when I’ve reduced my stash down to a reasonable size I might go for the L’occitane for winter.

      25 is totally not too late for eye cream (yay we are the same age!) and glad you like the blog. =D

Leave a Reply

